College of Humanities & Social Sciences

History Faculty & Staff

Johann Neem, Department Chair

Johann Neem, History Department Chair

 

 



 

Western Washington University
​Bellingham, WA 98225-9061
Bond Hall 360
Telephone: 360-650-2511
Fax: 360-650-7789
Johann.Neem@wwu.edu

Faculty

Name Academic Title Faculty Research Interests Contact Info Office Hours
Charles Anderson Assistant Professor
modern Middle East, imperialism, nationalism and anticolonialism, US foreign policy
(360) 650-3458
ander611@wwu.edu

on leave, Winter and Spring 2020

Dharitri Bhattacharjee Assistant Professor
South Asian History, Indian Ocean World, Empire, Colonialism, Decolonization
(360) 650-3139
bhattad@wwu.edu

Tuesday 4 - 5 PM , Wednesday 8-9 AM , Thursday 8 30 to 9 30 and by appointment

Pedro Cameselle-Pesce Assistant Professor
Modern Latin America; U.S.-Latin American Relations; Immigration and Ethnicity
(360) 650-4497
camesep@wwu.edu

Tuesdays 10:00 to 11:00 AM, Thursdays 4:00-5:00 PM

Josh Cerretti Associate Professor
Sexuality, race, and gender in modern U.S. history.
(360) 650-6416
cerretj@wwu.edu

Wednesdays, 1:00-3:30pm

A white man with a beard and glasses smiling in front of a background of Spanish Moss
Daniel Chard Visiting Assistant Professor
Post World War II U.S.; social movements, policing, terrorism and counterterrorism
(360) 650-3086
chardd@wwu.edu

Via Zoom by appointment; preference: Fridays 9am-12pm

Dr. Daniel S. Chard headshot
Susan Costanzo Associate Professor
Post-Stalin society and culture
(360) 650-3062
costasus@wwu.edu

M 11-12, R 3:30-4:30, and by appt.

Bayarsaikhan Dashdondog
(360) 650-3041
dashdob@wwu.edu
Peter Diehl Associate Professor
heresy, medieval Italy, Carolingian Empire
(360) 650-3466
pddiehl@wwu.edu

MW 2:30-4:00 and by appointment

Amanda Eurich Professor
early modern Europe, France, gender, religious and cultural history
(360) 650-3141
eurich@wwu.edu

TR 3-5pm; Wednesday 1-3 and by appointment

Emi Foulk Bushelle Assistant Professor
Early Modern Japan; Japanese Nativism; Japanese Intellectual History
(360) 650-4954
foulke@wwu.edu

R 1-3 pm, and by appointment (via Zoom)

Chris Friday Professor
Indigenous Histories, Racial and Ethnic Studies, Pacific Northwest and North American West History, Public History
(360) 650-4862
ccfriday@wwu.edu

Via Email: M-W: 10AM-4 PM • R & F: 10AM-Noon • Replys by end of next working day when possible.

Chris Friday, Professor of History and Graduate Advisor, Western Washington University
Steven Garfinkle Professor
Ancient Mesopotamia, Ancient Economy, Early State Formation, Commerce & Communication in the Ancient World
(360) 650-3456
garfins@wwu.edu

M + W 2:30pm - 3:30pm, and by appointment.

Jared Hardesty Associate Professor
Colonial America, Atlantic World, Slavery
(360) 650-3043
hardesj2@wwu.edu

MW 12-1pm and by appointment

Christine Johnston Assistant Professor
Ancient Mediterranean History; Trade and Political Economy; Cultural Heritage; Environmental History; Digital Humanities
(360) 650-2062
johnst27@wwu.edu

Spring: Friday 1–3pm (email for Zoom meeting ID) and by appt.

Ricardo López-Pedreros Professor
Histories of Latin America, world history, and histories of democracy and domination. Histories of the middle classes.
(360) 650-2939
lopeza6@wwu.edu

Wednesday 11-12 and gladly by appointment

Hakeem Naim Visiting Assistant Professor
Modern Middle East, South Asian History, Colonialism and Decolonization, Intellectual History, Ottoman Empire and Afghanistan
(360) 650-3465
naimh@wwu.edu

W 10:00-12:00

Johann Neem Professor
American Revolution; Early American Republic; American Intellectual History; History of Education
(360) 650-2511
neemj@wwu.edu

Spring 2020: Tuesdays 12:30-2:30, and by appointment

Peter Pihos Assistant Professor
post-WWII black social and political history, criminal justice, urban history, political economy, state power, legal history
(360) 650-3095
pihosp@wwu.edu

Tuesday, Thursday 3-4pm

Hunter Price Assistant Professor
American Revolution, Early American Republic, Civil War Era, American Religion
(360) 650-3439
pricem27@wwu.edu

T 4:00-5:00 and by appointment

Jennifer Seltz Associate Professor
(360) 650-2510
seltzj2@wwu.edu

TR 9-10 and by appointment

Mart Stewart Professor
Environmental history, history of science, 19th century cultural history, history of the U.S. and Global South
(360) 650-3455
smar4@wwu.edu

Spring '20: Wednesday 2:30-4:00

Roger R. Thompson Professor
Modern China
(360) 650-2342
thompsr8@wwu.edu

Spring 2019: TR 12:30-1:50 and by appointment

Sarah Zarrow Assistant Professor
Jewish life in Eastern Europe, Nationalism, Jewish political movements, Museum Studies
(360) 650-3053
zarrows@wwu.edu

Tuesdays, 10:00-2:00 (by appt); 11:00-12:00 open hours via Zoom

Sarah Zimmerman Associate Professor
African History, Gender, Colonialism, Militarization, and Public History
(360) 650-2967
zimmers5@wwu.edu

Sabbatical Leave 2019-2020

Affiliated/Part-Time Faculty

Name Academic Title Faculty Research Interests Contact Info Office Hours
Holly Folk Associate Professor
(360) 650-6875
Holly.Folk@wwu.edu
Kitty Friesen
(360) 650-3124
friesek@wwu.edu
Mark Greenberg Dean of Libraries
American Jewish History
(360) 650-3051
greenbm@wwu.edu
Elizabeth Joffrion Director of Heritage Resources
(360) 650-3283
joffrion@wwu.edu
Tony Kurtz Library/Archival Profession 3
(360) 650-3124
kurtza@wwu.edu
Kimberly Lynn Professor
Early Modern Europe and Iberian World; Mediterranean; Atlantic World; Empire, Law, Religion
(360) 650-4869
lynnk3@wwu.edu

Tues. 2-2:45 p.m., Thurs. 11-11:45 a.m., and by appointment

Jonathan Miran Professor
Northeast Africa; Islam in Africa; Indian Ocean world; transnational / transregional history; migration; Italian colonialism
(360) 650-4867
miranj@wwu.edu

Tuesday/Thursday 12.45-1.30 and 4.00-4.30

Scott Pearce Professor
(360) 650-3897
pearce@wwu.edu
Ruth Steele Archivist
(360) 650-7747
steeler@wwu.edu
Midori Takagi Associate Professor
(360) 650-7381
mtakagi@wwu.edu
Matthew Van Duyn Instructor
(360) 650-7216
vanduym@wwu.edu

Tuesdays and Thursdays, 2:30-4:30

Staff

Name Academic Title Faculty Research Interests Contact Info Office Hours
Dylan Gibson Office Assistant 3
(360) 650-7779
gibsond6@wwu.edu

9:00am - 5:00pm

Black and White Portrait Photo of Dylan Gibson
Jennie Huber Admin Services Manager A
(360) 650-3457
jennie@wwu.edu

7:30 - 4:30