Faculty, Advisors & Staff

Johann Neem, Department Chair

 

 



 




Western Washington University
​Bellingham, WA 98225-9061
Bond Hall 360
Telephone: 360-650-2511
Fax: 360-650-7789
Johann.Neem@wwu.edu

The department's tenured and tenure-track faculty, taken as a whole, examine much of human history and the globe. Most are actively engaged as scholars often presenting papers at conferences and authoring articles and books. They teach courses for majors as well as GUR courses. These faculty members also provide service to the department, college, university, and profession by serving on committees and other activities such as offering special lectures for the larger Bellingham community.

Tenured and tenure-track faculty also serve as advisors for declared majors, and are identified below.

Charles  Anderson
(2014)

Assistant Professor

UNDERGRADUATE ADVISOR 

Bond Hall 356               
360-650-3458
Charles.Anderson@wwu.edu

Degrees: BA, Oberlin; MA, PhD, New York University


Teaching/Research Areas:
Middle East

Fall 2017 Office Hours:
Tuesday, 12:00 to 1:00 p.m.
Thursday, 1:00 to 2:00 p.m.
and by appointment
 

 

Pedro Cameselle
(2015)

Assistant Professor

Bond Hall 338
360-650-4497
Pedro.Cameselle@wwu.edu 

 

Degrees: BA, Fairfield University; 
MA, Boston University;
PhD, Fordham University

Teaching/Research Areas:
Latin America, World History

Fall 2017 Office Hours:
Monday, 4:00 to 4:45 p.m.
Wednesday, 10:00 to 11:00 a.m.
​and by appointment

 

Joshua Cerretti
(2015)

Assistant Professor

UNDERGRADUATE ADVISOR

Bond Hall 350
360-650-6416
Joshua.Cerretti@wwu.edu

Degrees: BA, Trinity College (CT); MA, UN University for
Peace; PhD, University of Buffalo


Teaching/Research Area:
Sexuality, Militarism, Women and Gender, Indigenous 
America

​​Fall 2017 Office Hours:
Monday and Friday
12:00 to 2:00 p.m.
​and by appointment

Susan E. Costanzo 
(1993)

Associate Professor

UNDERGRADUATE ADVISOR 

Bond Hall 346
360-650-3062
Susan.Costanzo@wwu.edu

Degrees: BA, MA, PhD,
Northwestern University


Teaching/Research Areas: 
Russia, Europe

Fall 2017 Office Hours:
Tuesday
12:00 to 2:00 p.m.
​and by appointment

Peter Diehl 
(1992)

Associate Professor                

UNDERGRADUATE  ADVISOR

Bond Hall 328
360-650-3466
Peter.Diehl@wwu.edu

Degrees: BA, Yale University; MA,
PhD, University of California, Los Angeles

Teaching/Research Areas:
Medieval Europe, Religion

Fall 2017 Office Hours:
Monday, Wednesday, Friday
12:30 to 1:30 p.m..
​and by appointment

Susan Amanda Eurich 
(1986)

Professor

UNDERGRADUATE ADVISOR 

Bond Hall 318
360-650-3141
Amanda.Eurich@wwu.edu

Degrees: BA, Portland State University; MA, PhD,
Emory University

Teaching/Research Areas:
Early Modern Europe, France

Fall 2017 Office Hours:

On Leave Fall 2017                   and  Winter 2018

 

Emi Foulk Bushelle
(2016)

Assistant Professor

UNDERGRADUATE ADVISOR

Bond Hall 348
360-650-3095
Emi.Bushelle@wwu.edu

Degrees: BA, Wesleyan University; MS, Columbia University; MA, PhD, University of California, Los Angeles

Teaching/Research Areas:
Japan/Early Modern Japanese Intellectual History

Fall 2017 Office Hours:
Monday and Friday
1:00 to 2:00 p.m.
​and by appointment

Christopher C. Friday
(1992)

Professor

UNDERGRADUATE ADVISOR 

Bond Hall 326
360-650-4862 
Christopher.Friday@wwu.edu

Degrees: BA, Lewis And Clark
College; MA, PhD, University
of California, Los Angeles

Teaching/Research Areas:
American Indian, Asian American,
Pacific Northwest,Public History

Fall 2017 Office Hours:
Tuesday and Thursday
1:00 to 1:50 p.m.
​and by appointment

Steven Garfinkle 
(2001)

Professor

 UNDERGRADUATE ADVISOR 

Bond Hall 334
360-650-3456
Steven.Garfinkle@wwu.edu

Degrees: BA, Tufts University;
MA, University of London;
PhD, Columbia University

Teaching/Research Areas:
Ancient Near East and Ancient Mediterranean

Fall 2017 Office Hours:
Monday and Wednesday
11:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
​and by appointment

Jared Hardesty 
(2014)

Associate Professor

UNDERGRADUATE ADVISOR

Bond Hall 340
360-650-3043
Jared.Hardesty@wwu.edu

Degrees: BA, Ohio Northern University; MA, PhD, Boston
College

Teaching/Research Areas:
Colonial America, Atlantic World,
History of Slavery

Fall 2017 Office Hours:
Mnday and Wednesday
11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
​and by appointment

Randall C. Jimerson 
(1994)

Professor

UNDERGRADUATE ADVISOR 

Bond Hall 324
360-650-3139
Rand.Jimerson@wwu.edu

Degrees: BA, Earlham College;
MA, PhD, University
of Michigan



Teaching/Research Areas:
Archival Administration,
Information Management, US

Fall 2017 Office Hours:
Tuesday and Wednesday
10:00 to 11:30 a.m.
​and by appointment

Ricardo Lopez
(2008)

Associate Professor

UNDERGRADUATE ADVISOR 

Bond Hall 330
360-650-2939
Ricardo.Lopez@wwu.edu

Degrees: BA, National University
of Colombia, Bogota;
MA, Virginia Tech University;
PhD, University of Maryland, College Park

Teaching/Research Areas: 
Latin America, World History, Middle Class

Fall 2017 Office Hours:
Tuesday and Thursday
12:00 to 1:00 p.m.
​and by appointment

Johann N. Neem
(2004)

Professor

UNDERGRADUATE ADVISOR

Bond Hall 332
360-650-2511
Johann.Neem@wwu.edu

Degrees: AB, Brown University; MA,
PhD, University of Virginia

Teaching/Research Areas: 
Early American Republic, Intellectual


Fall 2017 Office Hours:
Wednesday, Thursday, Friday
12:30 to 2:30 p.m..
​and by appointment

Website: 
http://works.bepress.com/johann_neem/

Jennifer Seltz 
(2011)

Assistant Professor

UNDERGRADUATE ADVISOR

Bond Hall 316
360-650-2510
Jennifer.Seltz@wwu.edu 

Degrees:
 AB, Brown University;
MA, PhD, University of 
Washington

Teaching/Research Areas: 
US History

Fall 2017 Office Hours:
Wednesday
10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
​and by appointment

Mart A Stewart
(1992)

Professor

UNDERGRADUATE ADVISOR
Bond Hall 320
360-650-3455
Mart.Stewart@wwu.edu

 

Degrees: BA, Willamette University;
MA, Portland State University;
PhD, Emory University

Teaching/Research Areas:
19th Century U.S.,
Environmental History, History
of Science

Fall 2017 Office Hours:
On Leave AY 2017/2018


Website: 
https://works.bepress.com/mart_stewart/

Roger Thompson
(2003)

Professor

UNDERGRADUATE ADVISOR 

Bond Hall 354
360-650-2342
Roger.Thompson@wwu.edu

Degrees: BA, Stanford University;
MA, PhD, Yale University


Teaching/Research Areas: 
China

Fall 2017 Office Hours:
Tuesday and Thursday
2:30 to 4:00 p.m.
​and by appointment

   

Sarah Zarrow
(2017)

Assistant Professor

 

Bond Hall 352
360-650-3053
Sarah.Zarrow@wwu.edu

Degrees:  AB, Vassar College
​MA, Jewish Theological Seminary
MPhil, New York University
PhD, New York University


Teaching/Research Area:
Jewish history, nationalism, Central
and East European history, Memory and commemoration
 

Fall 2017 Office Hours:
Monday and Wednesday
1:00 to 2:00 p.m.
​and by appointment

Sarah Zimmerman
(2012)

Assistant Professor

UNDERGRADUATE ADVISOR

Bond Hall 356
360-650-2967
Sarah.Zimmerman@wwu.edu

Degrees: BA, Ohio University; MA,
PhD, University of California,
Berkeley


Teaching/Research Area:
Africa, Colonialism, Women &
Gender
 

Fall 2017 Office Hours:
Thursday
2:00 to 4:00 p.m.
​and by appointment

   

Lecturers
The Department of History is fortunate to have a group of dedicated, hard-working professionals who teach part time. These individuals teach largely lower-division survey courses and occasional upper-division courses. Their primary duties are related directly to teaching their classes. Because they are not necessarily here each quarter, students should look to tenured and tenure-track faculty regarding advising.

 

Tristan Goldman
(2012)

Visiting Assistant Professor

Bond Hall 336
360-650-2062
Tristan.Goldman@wwu.edu

Degrees: BA, MA, PhD, University of Washington

 

 

 

Teaching/Research Area: Ancient Mediterranean

Fall 2017 Office Hours:
In the Library Commons:
Monday, Wednesday, Friday
10:15 to 11:15 a.m.
​and by appointment

Christine Johnston
(2016)

Visiting Assistant Professor

Bond Hall 344
360-650-4954
Christine.Johnston@wwu.edu

Degrees: BCOM, University of British Columbia
MA, University of British Columbia
PhD, Cotsen Institute of Archeology, UCLA

 
Teaching/Research Areas:
Ancient Near East and Mediterranean, Economic History

Fall 2017 Office Hours:
Monday, 2:30 to 3:30 p.m.
Wednesday, 11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.
​and by appointment

 

Hunter Price (2014)
Visiting Assistant Professor

Bond Hall 342
360-650-3439
Hunter.Price@wwu.edu

Degrees: 
BA, Furman University; MA, PhD, Ohio State University

Personal biography:  https://wwu.academia.edu/HunterPrice
 

Teaching/Research Areas:
Early U. S. Republic

Fall 2017 Office Hours:
Tuesday
3:00 to 4:00 p.m.
​and by appointment

 

Phil Van Huizen
Visiting Assistant Professor

Bond Hall 358
360-650-3816
Philip.VanHuizen@wwu.edu

Degrees: 
BA, The King's University; MA, PhD, University of British Columbia


 

Teaching/Research Areas:Canada; Canadian-U.S. Relations; Environmental History; Energy History

Fall 2017 Office Hours:
Tuesday/Thursday
12:00 to 1:00 p.m.
​and by appointment

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Adjunct/Affiliate Faculty
These individuals may also work in other parts of the university but because of their regular teaching and other scholarly activities are associated with the department  They may sit on thesis committees and are good sources of advice in their areas of expertise.

 

 

 

 

Kitty Friesen
(1993)

Affiliate Faculty

AB 225, MS 9123
360-733-1307
Kitty.Friesen@wwu.edu

Degrees: Diploma in Conservation
of Library and
Archives Materials,
Camberwell School of Art
and Craft, London, UK
 


Teaching/Research Areas: 
Preservation and Conservation
of Library and Archives Materials


OFFICE HOURS:

Please contact to make an
appointment.  

Mark Greenberg
(2016)

Affiliated Faculty

Dean of Western Washington University Libraries

Haggard Hall 231A, MS 9103
360-650-3051
Mark.Greenberg@wwu.edu

Degrees: BA, University of Toronto; MA, University of Western Ontario; PhD, University of Florida

Teaching/Research Areas:
American Jewish history, U.S. immigrant/ethnic history, U.S. South



OFFICE HOURS:

Please contact to make an appointment

Web page: https://library.wwu.edu/welcome

 

Elizabeth Joffrion
​(2000)

Affiliated Faculty

Director of Heritage Resources,
Western Washington University Libraries 
Wilson Library 673, MS 9103
360-650-3283
Elizabeth.Joffrion@wwu.edu

Degrees: BA, Louisiana State University; MLIS, University of
Maryland; MA, University of New Orleans 

Teaching/Research Areas:
Archives, Special Collections,
Cultural Heritage


OFFICE HOURS:

Please contact to make an appointment

Tony Kurtz
(2006)

Affiliated Faculty

AB 226, MS 9123
360-650-3124
Tony.Kurtz@wwu.edu

Degrees: BA English, MA History with a certificate
in Archives & Records Management, Western Washington University
 


Teaching/Research Areas: 
Archives & Records
Management


OFFICE HOURS:

Please contact to make an appointment

 

Richard Pearce-Moses
(2017)

Affiliated Faculty

​AB 226, MS 9123
360-389-3647
Richard.Pearce-Moses@wwu.edu

Degrees: BA, Bachelor of Journalism (photojournalism), University of Texas, Austin;
MA, Master of Arts (American studies) University of Texas, Austin; MA, Master of Science (Library and Information Science), University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Teaching/Research Areas: 
Emphasis on digital archives and electronic records, with special focus on lexicography.


OFFICE HOURS:

Please contact to make an appointment

Ruth Steele
(2009)

Affiliated Faculty

​AB 225, MS 9123
360-650-7747
Ruth.Steele@wwu.edu


Degrees: MA, (Hons.) History, University of Edinburgh; MA, History with a certificate in Archives & Records Management, Western Washington University


Teaching/Research Areas: 
Arrangement and Description of Archives


OFFICE HOURS:

Please contact to make an appointment

Midori Takagi
(2017)
Affiliated Faculty

FA 315, MS 9118
360-650-7381
Midori.Takagi@wwu.edu

Degrees: MA, History, Oberlin College; MA, history from American University in Washington D.C.; Ph.D., History from Columbia University in New York.

Teaching/Research Areas:

African American history, specializing in slave studies; Asian American studies; Ethnic Studies and immigration; Film studies.

OFFICE HOURS:
Please contact to make an appointment

 

Professors Emeriti

Cecilia A. Danysk 
(1996 - 2015)

Professor Emeritus

Cecilia.Danysk@wwu.edu

Degrees: BA, Concordia University; MA, PhD, McGill University

Teaching/Research Area: Canada

Leonard M. Helfgott
(1970 - 2012)

Professor Emeritus

Leonard.Helfgott@wwu.edu

Degrees: BA, MA, PhD, University of Maryland


Teaching/Research Areas: Middle East, Europe

Book:  Ties That Bind, a book by Dr. Helfgott.  Read it here.

George Mariz 
(1970 - 2015)

Professor Emeritus of History 

George.Mariz@wwu.edu

Degrees: BA, MA, PhD, University of Missouri

Teaching/Research Areas: Europe, Intellectual, Britain

 

Harry R. Ritter
(1969-2010)

Professor Emeritus

Harry.Ritter@wwu.edu

Degrees: BA,University
of Arizona; MA,
PhD, University of Virginia

Teaching/Research Area: Modern Central Europe

Henry G. Schwarz
(1969-1994)

Professor Emeritus

Henry.Schwartz@wwu.edu

Degrees: BA, MA, PhD, University of Wisconsin-Madison


Teaching/Research Areas: Modern/Contemporary Chinese, Mongolian Studies, Uyghur Studies, East Asian Studies

Louis W. Truschel
(1970 to 2010)

Professor Emeritus

LWmTruschel@comcast.net

Degrees: BA, Pacific Lutheran University;
MA, PhD, Northwestern University

Teaching/Research Areas: 
Africa, Modern Europe, WW II

Donald W. Whisenhunt (1991-2003)
Professor Emeritus

Donald.Whisenhunt@wwu.edu

Degrees: BA, McMurry College; MA, PhD, Texas Tech University


Teaching/Research Areas: 
US, 1930s

Retired and moved out of state.

Relocated Faculty

 

 

 

 

 

Meaghan Beaton
(2015-2017)

Visiting Assistant Professor

Degrees: BA, Carlton University;
MA, Saint Mary's University; 
LLB, Law Dalhousie University; 
PhD, Trent University

Teaching/Research Areas: 
Canada

 

 

Administrative Staff

 

 

Jennie Huber
Administrative Services Manager

Bond Hall 362
360-650-3457


Jennie.Huber@wwu.edu

Willie Smith
Office Assistant


Bond Hall 364
360-650-3429
or 360-650-7779

Willie.Smith@wwu.edu