History Faculty & Staff

Johann Neem, Department Chair

Johann Neem, History Department Chair

 

 



 

Western Washington University
​Bellingham, WA 98225-9061
Bond Hall 360
Telephone: 360-650-2511
Fax: 360-650-7789
Johann.Neem@wwu.edu

Faculty

Name Title Research Interests Phone Email Office Hours
Charles Anderson Assistant Professor
(360) 650-3458
Charles.Anderson@wwu.edu
Pedro Cameselle-Pesce Assistant Professor
Modern Latin America; U.S.-Latin American Relations; Immigration and Ethnicity
(360) 650-4497
Pedro.Cameselle-Pesce@wwu.edu Mon 4:00-4:30pm, Wed/Fri 10:00-11:00am, and by appointment
Josh Cerretti Assistant Professor
Sexuality, race, and gender in modern U.S. history.
(360) 650-6416
Josh.Cerretti@wwu.edu Mondays, 1-3pm
Susan Costanzo Associate Professor
(360) 650-3062
Susan.Costanzo@wwu.edu
Peter Diehl Associate Professor
heresy, medieval Italy, Carolingian Empire
(360) 650-3466
Peter.Diehl@wwu.edu MW 2:30-4:00 and by appointment
Amanda Eurich Professor
Amanda.Eurich@wwu.edu
Emi Foulk Bushelle Assistant Professor
(360) 650-4954
Emi.Bushelle@wwu.edu
Chris Friday, Professor of History and Graduate Advisor, Western Washington University Chris Friday Professor
Indigenous Histories, Racial and Ethnic Studies, Pacific Northwest and North American West History, Public History
(360) 650-4862
Chris.Friday@wwu.edu Consult Canvas Page Each Quarter/Contact History Department
Steven Garfinkle Professor
Ancient Mesopotamia, Ancient Economy, Early State Formation, Commerce & Communication in the Ancient World
(360) 650-3456
Steven.Garfinkle@wwu.edu M 2:30-3:30, W 11:30-12:30, and by appointment.
Tristan Goldman Senior Instructor
(360) 650-4954
Tristan.Goldman@wwu.edu
Jared Hardesty Associate Professor
Colonial America, Atlantic World, Slavery
(360) 650-3043
Jared.Hardesty@wwu.edu T, R 12:30-1:30pm and by appointment
Rand Jimerson Professor
(360) 650-3139
Rand.Jimerson@wwu.edu
Christine Johnston Instructor
(360) 650-4954
johnst27@wwu.edu
Ricardo López-Pedreros Associate Professor
Latin American history, world history, and histories of democracy. Histories of the middle classes.
(360) 650-2939
Ricardo.Lopez@wwu.edu Wednesday, 1:00-4:00 and gladly by appointment
Johann Neem Professor
American Revolution; Early American Republic; American Intellectual History; History of Education
(360) 650-2511
Johann.Neem@wwu.edu Fall 2018: Monday 2:30-4:30; Thursday 12:00-2:00.
Eiji Okawa Visiting Assistant Professor
(360) 650-3465
okawae@wwu.edu
Richard Pearce-Moses Instructor
(360) 650-3124
pearcer5@wwu.edu
Peter Pihos Assistant Professor
(360) 650-3095
Peter.Pihos@wwu.edu Tuesday, 10:00-11:00am; Friday, 1:30-2:30pm
Hunter Price photo Hunter Price Assistant Professor
American Revolution, Early American Republic, Civil War Era, American Religion
(360) 650-3439
Hunter.Price@wwu.edu Wed. 1:30-2:30 and by appointment
Michael Schulze-Oechtering Instructor
(360) 650-6293
schulzm3@wwu.edu
Jennifer Seltz Associate Professor
(360) 650-2510
Jennifer.Seltz@wwu.edu
Mart Stewart Professor
(360) 650-3455
Mart.Stewart@wwu.edu
Roger R. Thompson Professor
(360) 650-2342
RogerR.Thompson@wwu.edu
Philip Van Huizen Visiting Assistant Professor
(360) 650-3816
vanhuip@wwu.edu
Sarah Zarrow Assistant Professor
Jewish life in Eastern Europe, Nationalism, Jewish political movements, Museum Studies
(360) 650-3053
Sarah.Zarrow@wwu.edu Wednesdays, 12:00-2:00
Sarah Zimmerman Associate Professor
(360) 650-2967
Sarah.Zimmerman@wwu.edu

Staff

Name Title Research Interests Phone Email Office Hours
Chloe Dye Sherpe Office Assistant
(360) 650-7779
Chloe.DyeSherpe@wwu.edu 9am-5pm
Jennie Huber Admin Services Manager A
(360) 650-3457
Jennie.Huber@wwu.edu 7:30 - 4:30

Affiliated/Part-Time Faculty

Name Title Research Interests Phone Email Office Hours
Kitty Friesen
(360) 650-3124
friesek@wwu.edu
Mark Greenberg Dean of Libraries
(360) 650-3051
greenbm@wwu.edu
Elizabeth Joffrion Director of Heritage Resources
(360) 650-3283
joffrion@wwu.edu
Tony Kurtz Library/Archival Profession 3
(360) 650-3124
kurtza@wwu.edu
Ruth Steele Archivist
(360) 650-7747
steeler@wwu.edu
Midori Takagi Associate Professor
(360) 650-7381
mtakagi@wwu.edu