College of Humanities & Social Sciences

History Faculty & Staff

Johann Neem, Department Chair

Johann Neem, History Department Chair

 

 



 

Western Washington University
​Bellingham, WA 98225-9061
Bond Hall 360
Telephone: 360-650-2511
Fax: 360-650-7789
Johann.Neem@wwu.edu

Faculty

Name Academic Title Faculty Research Interests Contact Info Office Hours
Charles Anderson Assistant Professor
modern Middle East, imperialism, nationalism and anticolonialism, US foreign policy
(360) 650-3458
ander611@wwu.edu

Weds, 10:15-11:15; Friday, 4:00-5:00

Pedro Cameselle-Pesce Assistant Professor
Modern Latin America; U.S.-Latin American Relations; Immigration and Ethnicity
(360) 650-4497
camesep@wwu.edu

Wednesdays 10:00-11:00am, Thursdays 12:00-1:30pm, and by appointment

Josh Cerretti Assistant Professor
Sexuality, race, and gender in modern U.S. history.
(360) 650-6416
cerretj@wwu.edu

Wednesdays, 1:00-3:30pm

A white man with a beard and glasses smiling in front of a background of Spanish Moss
Susan Costanzo Associate Professor
Post-Stalin society and culture
(360) 650-3062
costasus@wwu.edu

MW 11:30-12:30 and by appt.

Peter Diehl Associate Professor
heresy, medieval Italy, Carolingian Empire
(360) 650-3466
pddiehl@wwu.edu

MWF 10:00-11:00 and by appointment

Amanda Eurich Professor
early modern Europe, France, gender, religious and cultural history
(360) 650-3141
eurich@wwu.edu

TR 4-5, W 1-2:30 and by appointment

Emi Foulk Bushelle Assistant Professor
Early Modern Japan; Japanese Nativism; Japanese Intellectual History
(360) 650-4954
foulke@wwu.edu

MF 1-2 pm

Chris Friday Professor
Indigenous Histories, Racial and Ethnic Studies, Pacific Northwest and North American West History, Public History
(360) 650-4862
ccfriday@wwu.edu

Spring 2019: Tuesdays 12-1 and Thursdays 9-10 or by appointment.

Chris Friday, Professor of History and Graduate Advisor, Western Washington University
Steven Garfinkle Professor
Ancient Mesopotamia, Ancient Economy, Early State Formation, Commerce & Communication in the Ancient World
(360) 650-3456
garfins@wwu.edu

T + R 2:00 - 3:00, and by appointment.

Jared Hardesty Associate Professor
Colonial America, Atlantic World, Slavery
(360) 650-3043
hardesj2@wwu.edu

No Summer Office Hours

Christine Johnston Assistant Professor
Ancient Mediterranean History; Trade and Political Economy; Cultural Heritage; Environmental History; Digital Humanities
(360) 650-4954
johnst27@wwu.edu

No Summer Office Hours

Ricardo López-Pedreros Associate Professor
Latin American history, world history, and histories of democracy. Histories of the middle classes.
(360) 650-2939
lopeza6@wwu.edu

Tuesday 4-5 and gladly by appointment

Johann Neem Professor
American Revolution; Early American Republic; American Intellectual History; History of Education
(360) 650-2511
neemj@wwu.edu

Summer 2019: By appointment

Richard Pearce-Moses Instructor
(360) 650-3124
pearcer5@wwu.edu
Peter Pihos Assistant Professor
post-WWII black social and political history, criminal justice, urban history, political economy, state power, legal history
(360) 650-3095
pihosp@wwu.edu

Tuesday, 10:00-11:00am; Friday, 1:30-2:30pm

Hunter Price Assistant Professor
American Revolution, Early American Republic, Civil War Era, American Religion
(360) 650-3439
pricem27@wwu.edu

W 10:00-12:00 and by appointment

Jennifer Seltz Associate Professor
(360) 650-2510
seltzj2@wwu.edu

T 10-12

Mart Stewart Professor
Environmental history, history of science, 19th century cultural history, history of the U.S. and Global South
(360) 650-3455
smar4@wwu.edu

Spring '19: Th 3:30-4:30 and by appointment

Roger R. Thompson Professor
Modern China
(360) 650-2342
thompsr8@wwu.edu

Spring 2019: TR 12:30-1:50 and by appointment

Philip Van Huizen Visiting Assistant Professor
Canadian History, Environmental History, Canadian-U.S. Relations, Public History, Energy History
(360) 650-3816
vanhuip@wwu.edu

TR 12-1 PM

Sarah Zarrow Assistant Professor
Jewish life in Eastern Europe, Nationalism, Jewish political movements, Museum Studies
(360) 650-3053
zarrows@wwu.edu

Wednesdays, 1:00-3:00 pm

Sarah Zimmerman Associate Professor
African History, Gender, and Colonialism
(360) 650-2967
zimmers5@wwu.edu

Tu 4-5pm, Th 10:45-11:45am

Affiliated/Part-Time Faculty

Name Academic Title Faculty Research Interests Contact Info Office Hours
Daniel Chard Instructor
Post World War II U.S.; social movements, policing, and political violence
(360) 650-6293
chardd@wwu.edu

Thursday 12:30 to 1:30 or by appointment

Dr. Daniel S. Chard headshot
Holly Folk Associate Professor
(360) 650-6875
Holly.Folk@wwu.edu
Kitty Friesen
(360) 650-3124
friesek@wwu.edu
Mark Greenberg Dean of Libraries
(360) 650-3051
greenbm@wwu.edu
Elizabeth Joffrion Director of Heritage Resources
(360) 650-3283
joffrion@wwu.edu
Tony Kurtz Library/Archival Profession 3
(360) 650-3124
kurtza@wwu.edu
Kimberly Lynn Professor
Early Modern Europe and Iberian World; Mediterranean; Atlantic World; Empire, Law, Religion
(360) 650-4869
lynnk3@wwu.edu

by appointment

Jonathan Miran Professor
Northeast Africa; Islam in Africa; Indian Ocean World; transnational / transregional history; migration; Italian Colonialism
(360) 650-4867
miranj@wwu.edu
Scott Pearce Professor
(360) 650-3897
Scott.Pearce@wwu.edu
Ruth Steele Archivist
(360) 650-7747
steeler@wwu.edu
Midori Takagi Associate Professor
(360) 650-7381
mtakagi@wwu.edu

Staff

Name Academic Title Faculty Research Interests Contact Info Office Hours
Dylan Gibson Office Assistant 3
(360) 650-4868
gibsond6@wwu.edu

9:00am - 5:00pm

Black and White Portrait Photo of Dylan Gibson
Jennie Huber Admin Services Manager A
(360) 650-3457
jennie@wwu.edu

7:30 - 4:30