History Faculty & Staff

Johann Neem, Department Chair

Johann Neem, History Department Chair

 

 



 

Western Washington University
​Bellingham, WA 98225-9061
Bond Hall 360
Telephone: 360-650-2511
Fax: 360-650-7789
Johann.Neem@wwu.edu

Faculty

Name Academic Title Faculty Research Interests Contact Info
Charles Anderson Assistant Professor
(360) 650-3458
Charles.Anderson@wwu.edu
Pedro Cameselle-Pesce Assistant Professor
Modern Latin America; U.S.-Latin American Relations; Immigration and Ethnicity
(360) 650-4497
Pedro.Cameselle-Pesce@wwu.edu
Josh Cerretti Assistant Professor
Sexuality, race, and gender in modern U.S. history.
(360) 650-6416
Josh.Cerretti@wwu.edu
A white man with a beard and glasses smiling in front of a background of Spanish Moss
Susan Costanzo Associate Professor
(360) 650-3062
Susan.Costanzo@wwu.edu
Peter Diehl Associate Professor
heresy, medieval Italy, Carolingian Empire
(360) 650-3466
Peter.Diehl@wwu.edu
Amanda Eurich Professor
Amanda.Eurich@wwu.edu
Emi Foulk Bushelle Assistant Professor
Early Modern Japan; Japanese Nativism; Japanese Intellectual History
(360) 650-4954
Emi.Bushelle@wwu.edu
Chris Friday Professor
Indigenous Histories, Racial and Ethnic Studies, Pacific Northwest and North American West History, Public History
(360) 650-4862
Chris.Friday@wwu.edu
Chris Friday, Professor of History and Graduate Advisor, Western Washington University
Steven Garfinkle Professor
Ancient Mesopotamia, Ancient Economy, Early State Formation, Commerce & Communication in the Ancient World
(360) 650-3456
Steven.Garfinkle@wwu.edu
Tristan Goldman Senior Instructor
(360) 650-4954
Tristan.Goldman@wwu.edu
Jared Hardesty Associate Professor
Colonial America, Atlantic World, Slavery
(360) 650-3043
Jared.Hardesty@wwu.edu
Rand Jimerson Professor
(360) 650-3139
Rand.Jimerson@wwu.edu
Christine Johnston Instructor
(360) 650-4954
johnst27@wwu.edu
Ricardo López-Pedreros Associate Professor
Latin American history, world history, and histories of democracy. Histories of the middle classes.
(360) 650-2939
Ricardo.Lopez@wwu.edu
Johann Neem Professor
American Revolution; Early American Republic; American Intellectual History; History of Education
(360) 650-2511
Johann.Neem@wwu.edu
Eiji Okawa Visiting Assistant Professor
(360) 650-3465
okawae@wwu.edu
Richard Pearce-Moses Instructor
(360) 650-3124
pearcer5@wwu.edu
Peter Pihos Assistant Professor
(360) 650-3095
Peter.Pihos@wwu.edu
Hunter Price Assistant Professor
American Revolution, Early American Republic, Civil War Era, American Religion
(360) 650-3439
Hunter.Price@wwu.edu
Hunter Price photo
Michael Schulze-Oechtering Instructor
(360) 650-6293
schulzm3@wwu.edu
Jennifer Seltz Associate Professor
(360) 650-2510
Jennifer.Seltz@wwu.edu
Mart Stewart Professor
Environmental history, history of science, 19th century cultural history, history of the U.S. and Global South
(360) 650-3455
Mart.Stewart@wwu.edu
Roger R. Thompson Professor
(360) 650-2342
RogerR.Thompson@wwu.edu
Philip Van Huizen Visiting Assistant Professor
(360) 650-3816
vanhuip@wwu.edu
Sarah Zarrow Assistant Professor
Jewish life in Eastern Europe, Nationalism, Jewish political movements, Museum Studies
(360) 650-3053
Sarah.Zarrow@wwu.edu
Sarah Zimmerman Associate Professor
(360) 650-2967
Sarah.Zimmerman@wwu.edu

Staff

Name Academic Title Faculty Research Interests Contact Info
Chloe Dye Sherpe Office Assistant
(360) 650-7779
Chloe.DyeSherpe@wwu.edu
Jennie Huber Admin Services Manager A
(360) 650-3457
Jennie.Huber@wwu.edu

Affiliated/Part-Time Faculty

Name Academic Title Faculty Research Interests Contact Info
Holly Folk Associate Professor
(360) 650-6875
Holly.Folk@wwu.edu
Kitty Friesen
(360) 650-3124
friesek@wwu.edu
Mark Greenberg Dean of Libraries
(360) 650-3051
greenbm@wwu.edu
Elizabeth Joffrion Director of Heritage Resources
(360) 650-3283
joffrion@wwu.edu
Tony Kurtz Library/Archival Profession 3
(360) 650-3124
kurtza@wwu.edu
Kimberly Lynn Professor
Early Modern Europe and Iberian World; Mediterranean; Atlantic World; Empire, Law, Religion
(360) 650-4869
Kimberly.Lynn@wwu.edu
Jonathan Miran Professor
Northeast Africa; Islam in Africa; Indian Ocean World; transnational / transregional history; migration; Italian Colonialism
(360) 650-4867
Jonathan.Miran@wwu.edu
Scott Pearce Professor
(360) 650-3897
Scott.Pearce@wwu.edu
Ruth Steele Archivist
(360) 650-7747
steeler@wwu.edu
Midori Takagi Associate Professor
(360) 650-7381
mtakagi@wwu.edu