College of Humanities & Social Sciences

History Faculty & Staff

Johann Neem, Department Chair

Johann Neem, History Department Chair

 

 



 

Western Washington University
​Bellingham, WA 98225-9061
Bond Hall 360
Telephone: 360-650-2511
Fax: 360-650-7789
Johann.Neem@wwu.edu

Faculty

Name Academic Title Faculty Research Interests Contact Info Office Hours
Charles Anderson Assistant Professor
modern Middle East, imperialism, nationalism and anticolonialism, US foreign policy
(360) 650-3458
ander611@wwu.edu

Monday and Weds, 2:30-3:30

Dharitri Bhattacharjee Assistant Professor
South Asian History, Indian Ocean World, Empire, Colonialism, Decolonization
(360) 650-3139
bhattad@wwu.edu

Tuesday 4 - 5 PM , Wednesday 8-9 AM , Thursday 8 30 to 9 30 and by appointment

Pedro Cameselle-Pesce Assistant Professor
Modern Latin America; U.S.-Latin American Relations; Immigration and Ethnicity
(360) 650-4497
camesep@wwu.edu

Tuesdays 12:00-1:00pm, Wednesdays 9:30-11:00am, and by appointment

Josh Cerretti Associate Professor
Sexuality, race, and gender in modern U.S. history.
(360) 650-6416
cerretj@wwu.edu

Wednesdays, 1:00-3:30pm

A white man with a beard and glasses smiling in front of a background of Spanish Moss
Daniel Chard Instructor
Post World War II U.S.; social movements, policing, and political violence
(360) 650-6293
chardd@wwu.edu

Thursday 3:30 to 4:15 or by appointment

Dr. Daniel S. Chard headshot
Susan Costanzo Associate Professor
Post-Stalin society and culture
(360) 650-3062
costasus@wwu.edu

TR 2-3 and by appt.

Bayarsaikhan Dashdondog
(360) 650-3041
dashdob@wwu.edu
Peter Diehl Associate Professor
heresy, medieval Italy, Carolingian Empire
(360) 650-3466
pddiehl@wwu.edu

MW 2:30-4:00 and by appointment

Amanda Eurich Professor
early modern Europe, France, gender, religious and cultural history
(360) 650-3141
eurich@wwu.edu

TR 3-4pm; Wednesday 1-3 and by appointment

Emi Foulk Bushelle Assistant Professor
Early Modern Japan; Japanese Nativism; Japanese Intellectual History
(360) 650-4954
foulke@wwu.edu

MF 1-2 pm and by appointment

Chris Friday Professor
Indigenous Histories, Racial and Ethnic Studies, Pacific Northwest and North American West History, Public History
(360) 650-4862
ccfriday@wwu.edu

Fall 2019: Tuesdays 12-1 and Thursdays 9-10 or by appointment.

Chris Friday, Professor of History and Graduate Advisor, Western Washington University
Steven Garfinkle Professor
Ancient Mesopotamia, Ancient Economy, Early State Formation, Commerce & Communication in the Ancient World
(360) 650-3456
garfins@wwu.edu

M + W 10:00am - 11:00am, and by appointment.

Jared Hardesty Associate Professor
Colonial America, Atlantic World, Slavery
(360) 650-3043
hardesj2@wwu.edu

M, W 11:30am-12:30pm and by appointment

Christine Johnston Assistant Professor
Ancient Mediterranean History; Trade and Political Economy; Cultural Heritage; Environmental History; Digital Humanities
(360) 650-4954
johnst27@wwu.edu

Fall Office Hours: Tuesday 11:30–12:30 and by appt.

Ricardo López-Pedreros Professor
Latin American history, world history, and histories of democracy and domination. Histories of the middle classes.
(360) 650-2939
lopeza6@wwu.edu

Tuesday 12-1 and gladly by appointment

Hakeem Naim Visiting Assistant Professor
Modern Middle East, South Asian History, Colonialism and Decolonization, Intellectual History, Ottoman Empire and Afghanistan
(360) 650-3465
naimh@wwu.edu

MW 100:00-11:00

Johann Neem Professor
American Revolution; Early American Republic; American Intellectual History; History of Education
(360) 650-2511
neemj@wwu.edu

Fall 2019: Monday 12-2, Friday 2-4

Peter Pihos Assistant Professor
post-WWII black social and political history, criminal justice, urban history, political economy, state power, legal history
(360) 650-3095
pihosp@wwu.edu

Monday, 1-3pm

Hunter Price Assistant Professor
American Revolution, Early American Republic, Civil War Era, American Religion
(360) 650-3439
pricem27@wwu.edu

W 2:00-4:00 and by appointment

Jennifer Seltz Associate Professor
(360) 650-2510
seltzj2@wwu.edu

On leave through Winter 2020

Mart Stewart Professor
Environmental history, history of science, 19th century cultural history, history of the U.S. and Global South
(360) 650-3455
smar4@wwu.edu

Fall '19: WF 2:30-3:30 and by appointment

Roger R. Thompson Professor
Modern China
(360) 650-2342
thompsr8@wwu.edu

Spring 2019: TR 12:30-1:50 and by appointment

Philip Van Huizen Visiting Assistant Professor
Canadian History, Environmental History, Canadian-U.S. Relations, Public History, Energy History
(360) 650-3816
vanhuip@wwu.edu

TR 12-1 PM

Sarah Zarrow Assistant Professor
Jewish life in Eastern Europe, Nationalism, Jewish political movements, Museum Studies
(360) 650-3053
zarrows@wwu.edu

Mondays and Wednesdays, 1:00-2:00 pm

Sarah Zimmerman Associate Professor
African History, Gender, and Colonialism
(360) 650-2967
zimmers5@wwu.edu

On Sabbatical 2019-2020

Affiliated/Part-Time Faculty

Name Academic Title Faculty Research Interests Contact Info Office Hours
Holly Folk Associate Professor
(360) 650-6875
Holly.Folk@wwu.edu
Kitty Friesen
(360) 650-3124
friesek@wwu.edu
Mark Greenberg Dean of Libraries
American Jewish History
(360) 650-3051
greenbm@wwu.edu
Elizabeth Joffrion Director of Heritage Resources
(360) 650-3283
joffrion@wwu.edu
Tony Kurtz Library/Archival Profession 3
(360) 650-3124
kurtza@wwu.edu
Kimberly Lynn Professor
Early Modern Europe and Iberian World; Mediterranean; Atlantic World; Empire, Law, Religion
(360) 650-4869
lynnk3@wwu.edu

by appointment

Jonathan Miran Professor
Northeast Africa; Islam in Africa; Indian Ocean world; transnational / transregional history; migration; Italian colonialism
(360) 650-4867
miranj@wwu.edu
Scott Pearce Professor
(360) 650-3897
pearce@wwu.edu
Ruth Steele Archivist
(360) 650-7747
steeler@wwu.edu
Midori Takagi Associate Professor
(360) 650-7381
mtakagi@wwu.edu
Matthew Van Duyn Instructor
(360) 650-7216
vanduym@wwu.edu

Tuesdays and Thursdays, 2:30-4:30

Staff

Name Academic Title Faculty Research Interests Contact Info Office Hours
Dylan Gibson Office Assistant 3
(360) 650-7779
gibsond6@wwu.edu

9:00am - 5:00pm

Black and White Portrait Photo of Dylan Gibson
Jennie Huber Admin Services Manager A
(360) 650-3457
jennie@wwu.edu

7:30 - 4:30