College of Humanities & Social Sciences

Areas of Concentration

Areas of Concentration

Click HERE to see concentration advisor office hours.

Linguistics majors select an Area Concentration, taking several courses in one of our 10 affiliated subject areas:



Communication Sciences and Disorders

Computational Linguistics

Educational Linguistics


Modern and Classical Languages



TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages)

Students may also create other area concentrations, under consultation with the director. The number of courses varies from 2 (English) to 8 (TESOL). Some of the area concentrations do not specify a list of courses since these should be determined in consultation with the area advisor. Student do not have to select their area concentration(s) upon declaration of the major.