Modern & Classical Languages

MCL Area Concentration

Linguists taking courses in Spanish, French, German, Japanese, Chinese, Arabic, or Russian can choose a concentration in one of these languages. Adding a world language concentration to the linguistics major enables the student to gain a direct and more advanced knowledge of language itself. This is especially helpful in developing a deeper perspective of language contact and acquisition.

Requirements vary for Spanish, French, German, Japanese and Chinese, but normally include the 314 phonetics course and at least one grammar course above the 200-level. For more information, contact the following advisers:

Spanish: Rodolfo Mata  r.mata@wwu.edu

French: Christina Keppie   christina.keppie@wwu.edu

German: Shannon Dubenion-Smith     shannon.dubenion-smith@wwu.edu

Japanese: Masanori Deguchi   masanori.deguchi@wwu.edu

Chinese: Janet Xing    janet.xing@wwu.edu

For a concentration involving more than one language (or that involves Arabic or Russian, which are not taught beyond the second-year level at Western), contact Edward Vajda   edward.vajda@wwu.edu