Spanish Faculty

Spanish Faculty

Advisors

Blanca Aranda

Spanish Major and Latin American Studies Advisor

Associate Professor of Spanish (2012), 

Blanca Aranda

Website: http://faculty.wwu.edu/arandab/
Office: Miller Hall 128
Phone: 360-650-2528
Email: Blanca.Aranda@wwu.edu

B.A. Universidad Mayor de San Andrés

M.A. & Ph.D. University of Oregon

 

Joan M. Hoffman

Spanish Major & Study Abroad Advisor 

Professor of Spanish (1994)

Joan Hoffman
Office: Miller Hall 222A
Phone: 360-650-4803
Emailjoan.hoffman@wwu.edu

B.A., University of Washington 

M.A., University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Ph.D., Indiana University

Professor Hoffman has taught Spanish language and literature at all levels as well as the culture and history of Spain. Her research interests include 19th-century Spanish realism and authorship by women.

Now Available:

Voces femeninas de España: Una antología

https://www.penelopeacademicpress.com/

 

Hugo García

Spanish Minor Advisor

Associate Professor of Spanish (2006)

Hugo Garcia
Websitehttps://wp.wwu.edu/hugogarcia/
Office: Miller Hall 228
Phone: 360-650-4201
Emailhugo.garcia@wwu.edu

B.A., Universidad de Havana

M.A., St. John's University

Ph.D., The Ohio State University

Faculty

Mauricio Araniva

Senior Instructor of Spanish

Office: Miller Hall 217C
Phone: 360-650-2094
Emailmauricio.araniva@wwu.edu

M.A., University of Wisconsin-Madison. 

M.A., University of Washington

Mauricio loves teaching Spanish. Go Vikings!

Amy Carbajal

Senior Instructor of Spanish

Office: Miller Hall 216B
Phone: 360-650-7967
Email: amy.carbajal@wwu.edu
B.A. & M.I.S., Stephen F. Austin State University

Brent J. Carbajal

Professor of Spanish, Provost/V.P. Academic Affairs (1997)

Office: Old Main 460
Phone: 360-650-3547
Email: brent.carbajal@wwu.edu

B.A., Lewis and Clark College

M.A. & Ph.D., University of Washington

Kirsten Drickey

Visiting Assistant Professor of Spanish

Kirsten Drickey
Office: Miller Hall 222B
Phone: 360-650-6149
Email: kirsten.drickey@wwu.edu

Sean Dwyer

Senior Instructor of Spanish

Sean Dwyer
Office: Miller Hall 122B
Phone: 360-650-7966
Emailsean.dwyer@wwu.edu

R. Mata

Assistant Professor of Spanish & Linguistics (2017)

R. Mata
Office: 228
Phone: 360-650-3925
Emailr.mata@wwu.edu

B.A., University of Texas at El Paso

M.F.A., University of Alaska 

Ph.D. & M.A., University of California

Professor Mata's current research focus is Spanish as a heritage language in the United States, particularly the U.S.-Mexico border area. His fieldwork analyzes some of the morpho-syntactic properties of Spanish (such as subjunctive) that may be vulnerable to language contact, as well as discourse-pragmatics elements such as fillers and discourse markers. At Western he teaches general & Spanish linguistics, as well as Spanish as a heritage language.

Paqui Paredes

Professor of Spanish, Dean of CHSS (2002)

Paqui Paredes
Office: Miller Hall 223B
Phone: 360-650-2038
Emailpaqui.paredes@wwu.edu

B.A., Universidad de Santiago de Compostela

M.A. & Ph.D., University of Kansas

Charles Patterson

Spanish Minor Advisor

Associate Professor of Spanish (2012)

Charles Patterson
Office: Miller Hall 216D
Phone: 360-650-2154
Email: charles.patterson@wwu.edu

B.A., Utah State University

M.A., The University of New Mexico

Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Professor Patterson's research interest is in Golden Age Spanish theater, as well as more recent translations, adaptations, and performances of these early modern works. He teaches all levels of Spanish language, culture, and literature.

 

Luis Gonzalo Portugal

Visiting Assistant Professor of Spanish (2013)

Office: Miller Hall 222B
Phone: 360-650-4200
Emailluis.portugal@wwu.edu

B.A., Universidad Mayor de San Andrés

M.A., University of Oregon

Ph.D., University of Oregon

Maribel Rams

Visiting Assistant Professor of Spanish

Office: Miller Hall 122B
Phone: 360-650-3923
Email: maribel.rams@wwu.edu

B.A. & M.A. Universitat de Barcelona

Ph.D. University of Massachusetts Amherst

Maribel's research focuses on contemporary Peninsular literature, cinema, and cultural studies, with a particular interest in the representation of memory and women’s experiences in autobiographical discourses. At Western she teaches Spanish literature and culture, as well as advanced courses of Spanish language.

Mary-Anne Rangel-Guerrero

Senior Instructor of Spanish

Office: Miller Hall 218A
Phone: 360-650-4802
Emailmaryanne.rangel-guerrero@wwu.edu

B.A., University of Oregon

M.S., University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Judith White

Instructor of French and Spanish

Office: Miller Hall 122B
Phone: 360-650-7966
Email: judith.white@wwu.edu