Spanish Faculty

Spanish Faculty

Blanca Aranda - Assistant Professor of Spanish (2012)

Website: http://faculty.wwu.edu/arandab/
Office: Miller Hall 128
Phone: 360-650-2528
Email: Blanca.Aranda@wwu.edu
BA Universidad Mayor de San Andrés
MA & PhD University of Oregon
 

Mauricio Araniva - Senior Instructor of Spanish

Office: Miller Hall 217C
Phone: 360-650-2094
Email: mauricio.araniva@wwu.edu
MA, University of Wisconsin-Madison. 
MA, University of Washington
Mauricio loves teaching Spanish. Go Vikings!

Amy Carbajal - Senior Instructor of Spanish

Office: Miller Hall 216B
Phone: 360-650-7967
Email: amy.carbajal@wwu.edu
BA & MIS, Stephen F. Austin State University

Brent J. Carbajal - Professor of Spanish, Provost/V.P. Academic Affairs (1997)

Office: Old Main 460
Phone: 360-650-3547
Email: brent.carbajal@wwu.edu
BA, Lewis and Clark College
MA & PhD, University of Washington

Kirsten Drickey - Senior Instructor of Spanish

Office: Miller Hall 222B
Phone: 360-650-6149
Email: kirsten.drickey@wwu.edu

 

Sean Dwyer - Senior Instructor of Spanish

Office: Miller Hall 122B
Phone: 360-650-7966
Emailsean.dwyer@wwu.edu

 

Hugo García - Associate Professor of Spanish (2006)

Office: Miller Hall 228
Phone: 360-650-4201
Emailhugo.garcia@wwu.edu
BA, Universidad de Havan
MA, St. John's University
PhD, The Ohio State University

Shaw N. Gynan - Professor of Spanish and Linguistics (1986)

Office: Miller Hall 215A
Phone: 360-650-4853
Emailshaw.gynan@wwu.edu
BS, Georgetown University
MA, University of Texas, El Paso
PhD, University of Texas, Austin

Joan M. Hoffman - Professor of Spanish, Spanish Study Abroad Advisor (1994)

Office: Miller Hall 222A
Phone: 360-650-4803
Emailjoan.hoffman@wwu.edu
BA, University of Washington 
MA, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
PhD, Indiana University
Professor Hoffman has taught Spanish language and literature at all levels as well as the culture and history of Spain. Her research interests include 19th-century Spanish realism and authorship by women.
Now Available:
Voces femeninas de España: Una antología
https://www.penelopeacademicpress.com/

Rodolfo Mata - Assistant Professor of Spanish & Linguistics (2017)

Office: Miller Hall 228
Phone: 360-650-3925
Email: r.mata@wwu.edu
BA, University of Texas at El Paso
MFA, University of Alaska 
PhD & MA, University of California
Professor Mata's current research focus is Spanish as a heritage language in the United States, particularly the U.S.-Mexico border area. His fieldwork analyzes some of the morpho-syntactic properties of Spanish (such as subjunctive) that may be vulnerable to language contact, as well as discourse-pragmatics elements such as fillers and discourse markers. At Western he teaches general & Spanish linguistics, as well as Spanish as a heritage language.

 

Paqui Paredes - Chair / Professor of Spanish (2002)

Office: Miller Hall 223B
Phone: 360-650-2038
Emailpaqui.paredes@wwu.edu
BA, Universidad de Santiago de Compostela
MA & PhD, University of Kansas

 

Charles Patterson - Associate Professor of Spanish  (2012)

  
Office: Miller Hall 216D
Phone: 360-650-2154
Email: charles.patterson@wwu.edu
BA, Utah State University
MA, The University of New Mexico
PhD, The University of Texas at Austin
Professor Patterson's research interest is in Golden Age Spanish theater, as well as more recent translations, adaptations, and performances of these early modern works. He teaches all levels of Spanish language, culture, and literature.


Luis Gonzalo Portugal - Senior Instructor of Spanish (2013)

Office: Miller Hall 222B
Phone: 360-650-4200
Emailluis.portugal@wwu.edu
BA, Universidad Mayor de San Andrés
MA, University of Oregon
PhD, University of Oregon

Mary-Anne Rangel-Guerrero - Senior Instructor of Spanish

Office: Miller Hall 218A
Phone: 360-650-4802
Emailmaryanne.rangel-guerrero@wwu.edu
BA, University of Oregon
MS, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill