Faculty and Staff

The department's faculty and staff invite questions about the program and its career potential. If you are seeking more information, please visit the department in Arntzen Hall or telephone 360-650-3469. Written inquiries should be directed to the Department of Political Science, Western Washington University, 516 High Street, Bellingham, Washington 98225-9082.

Faculty

Amir Abedi

Professor and Chair
Office: AH 415A
Office Hours: TR 2:00-3:00 and by appointment
Phone: (360) 650-2912
Email: Amir.Abedi@wwu.edu

Bidisha Biswas

Professor
Office: AH 411
Office Hours: MW 10:15-11:15 and by appointment
Phone: (360) 650-6596
Email: Bidisha.Biswas@wwu.edu
Paul Chen

Paul Chen

Associate Professor
Office: AH 436
Office Hours: WR 2:00-3:00 and by appointment
Phone: (360) 650-4876
Email: Paul.Chen@wwu.edu

Kate Destler

Assistant Professor
Office: AH 406
Office Hours: W 2:00-4:00 and by appointment
Phone: (360) 650-7350
Email: Kate.Destler@wwu.edu
Shirin Deylami

Shirin Deylami

Associate Professor
Office: AH 409
Office Hours: WF 9:30-11:00 and by appointment
Phone: (360) 650-2913
Email: Shirin.Deylami@wwu.edu
Todd Donovan

Todd Donovan

Professor
Office: AH 418
Office Hours: M 3:00-4:00, R 9:30-11:30 and by appointment
Phone: (360) 650-3018
Email: Todd.Donovan@wwu.edu

Charles Hoffman

Senior Instructor
Office: AH 424
Office Hours: T 4:00-5:30 and by appointment
Phone: (360) 650-2908
Email: Charles.Hoffman@wwu.edu

Cynthia Horne

Professor
Office: AH 440
Office Hours: MW 9:00-10:00 and by appointment
Phone: (360) 650-2910
Email: Cynthia.Horne@wwu.edu
Vicki Hsueh

Vicki Hsueh

Professor
Office: AH 405
Office Hours: TR 2:30-4:00 and by appointment
Phone: (360) 650-2649
Email: Vicki.Hsueh@wwu.edu

Vernon Johnson

Professor
Office: AH 438
Office Hours: W 9:00-11:00 and by appointment
Phone: (360) 650-4874
Email: Vernon.Johnson@wwu.edu

Theodore Kamena

Instructor
Office: HSH 8B
Office Hours: W 10-11, 2-3, R 11-12 and by appointment
Phone: (360) 650-6655
Email: Theodore.Kamena@wwu.edu
Kristen Parris

Kristen Parris

Associate Professor
Office: AH 422
Office Hours: On professional leave
Phone: (360) 650-4873
Email: Kristen.Parris@wwu.edu
Rachel Paul

Rachel Paul

Visiting Assistant Professor
Office: AH 413
Office Hours: MW 1:15-2:15
Phone: (360) 650-3469
Email: Rachel.Paul@wwu.edu
Debra Salazar

Debra Salazar

Professor
Office: AH 401
Office Hours: T 10:30-11:30, W 1:00-3:00 and by appointment
Phone:
Email: Debra.Salazar@wwu.edu
Sara Singleton

Sara Singleton

Associate Professor
Office: AH 420
Office Hours: R 1:00-2:00 and by appointment
Phone: (360) 650-4880
Email: Sara.Singleton@wwu.edu

Yuliya Tverdova

Instructor
Office: AH 416
Office Hours: T 10:00-11:50 and by appointment
Phone: (360) 650-3469
Email: Yuliya.Tverdova@wwu.edu
Sara Weir

Sara Weir

Professor
Office: AH 403
Office Hours: On leave
Phone: (360) 650-2909
Email: Sara.Weir@wwu.edu

Michael Wolff

Assistant Professor
Office: AH 410
Office Hours: On leave
Phone: (360) 650-2410
Email: Michael.Wolff@wwu.edu
Emeritus

Donald Alper

Professor Emeritus (1971-2015)
Office: Office:CA 203
Office Hours:
Phone: (360) 650-3728
Email: don.alper@wwu.edu

Maurice Foisy

Associate Professor Emeritus (1970-1999)
Office:
Office Hours:
Phone:
Email: maurice.foisy@wwu.edu

Ralph Miner

Professor Emeritus (1970-2000)
Office:
Office Hours:
Phone:
Email: ralph.miner@wwu.edu
Staff

Joan Blackwell

Admin Services Manager A
Office: AH 415
Office Hours: MTWR 8:00-4:30, F 8:00-4:00
Phone: (360) 650-2505
Email: Joan.Blackwell@wwu.edu

Erica Steele

Program Coordinator
Office: AH 415
Office Hours: 9:00 am -3:30 pm during the AY
Phone: (360) 650-3469
Email: Erica.Steele@wwu.edu