Professional Leave Committee

The Professional Leave Committee is composed of five tenured faculty members, two from each of the disciplinary areas and one at large representative. There may be only one representative from any single department. No department chairs are eligible to serve on this committee, nor are faculty who plan to apply for a professional leave during the term of service. The term of service is two years, three members to be named in odd numbered years and two in even numbered years. Committee members in the same department as an applicant may not be present during discussion of, voting on, and drafting of the letter of recommendation for that applicant. The committee considers the applications for professional leave forwarded to it by the Dean and makes recommendations to the Dean. The committee may, through the office of the Dean, request additional information and/or consultation. The committee recommends changes in policy or procedures to the Faculty Affairs Council.


Membership 2017-2018

Judy Pine, Anthropology

Jeremy Cushman (replacing Ee Lin Lee for FQ17, WQ18, SQ18), English

Scott Pearce (replacing Andrea Gogrof for FQ17), Liberal Studies

Shirin Deylami, Political Science

Ron Helms, Sociology