Affiliated Faculty

Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Program Faculty

Kristin Anderson

Sociology. Gender and society, the family in society, domestic violence and the criminal justice system.

Kristin.Anderson@wwu.edu

Bidisha Biswas

Political Science. Diaspora politics, international relations, ethnic and civic conflicts, terrorism.

Bidisha.Biswas@wwu.edu

Josh Cerretti

History and WGSS Interim Director. Local and transnational feminisms, memory, trauma, and violence in wartime.

Josh.Cerretti@wwu.edu (Joint Appointment in History and WGSS)

Elizabeth Colen

English. Hybrid genres, experimental writing, ecopoetics, and literary collage. 

Elizabeth.Colen@wwu.edu

Susan Costanzo

History. Russian women's history and culture. 

Susan.Costanzo@wwu.edu

Robyn Dahl

Geology.

dahlr4@wwu.edu 

Shirin Deylami

Political Science. Feminist and queer theory; post-colonial and Islamic thought; and gender and Islam. 

Shirin.Deylami@wwu.edu

Raine Dozier

Human Services. 

Raine.Dozier@wwu.edu

Julie Dugger

English. Women writers, gender and genre, the romance novel. 

Julie.Dugger@wwu.edu

Marie Eaton

Fairhaven College. Lesbian/gay/bisexual/transgendered issues in education.

Marie.Eaton@wwu.edu (Emerita)

Lena Ericksen

Psychology. Gender issues.

Lena.Ericksen@wwu.edu

Mary Erickson

Communication Studies. Critical media studies, gender, film/TV/internet, media industries. 

Mary.Erickson@wwu.edu

Amanda Eurich

History. Gender, sexuality, and religion in early modern Europe. 

Amanda.Eurich@wwu.edu

Barbara Farrand

Psychology. Gender issues, learning and cognitive development, adolescent development.

Barbara.Farrand@wwu.edu

Angela Fillingim

Sociology. Human rights, immigration, international law, Latin America, race, and political sociology.

Angela.Fillingim@wwu.edu

Jenny Forsythe

English.

Jenny.Forsythe@wwu.edu

Allison Giffen

English. Early 19th century American women writers and American women poets.

Allison.Giffen@wwu.edu

Carol Guess

English. Queer Studies, Creative Writing.

Carol.Guess@wwu.edu

Joyce Hammond

Anthropology. Cross-cultural women studies, gender in visual media and popular culture, gender and body, women's folk arts.

Joyce.Hammond@wwu.edu

Pam Hardman

English. Women's literature, cultural studies, medical institutions' treatment of women.

Pam.Hardman@wwu.edu

Nini Hayes

Environmental Studies. Critical education theory, environmental education, and social justice.

Nini.Hayes@wwu.edu

Vicki Hsueh

Political Science. Feminist political theory, political participation and gender, post-colonialism, ethnicity, and race. 

Vicki.Hsueh@wwu.edu

Melina Juárez Pérez

Political Science and WGSS. Immigration, Latinx politics, race, gender, and sexuality. 
(Joint Appointment in Political Science and WGSS). 

Melina.Juarez@wwu.edu

Laura Laffrado

English. Early U.S. literature and culture, U.S. women's writing, women's autobiographical writing.

Laura.Laffrado@wwu.edu

Anne Lobeck

English. Language and gender.

Anne.Lobeck@wwu.edu

Jen Lois

Sociology. Social psychology, emotions, gender, qualitative methods. 

Jennifer.Lois@wwu.edu

Baozhen Luo

Sociology. Family and life course, social gerontology, Asian/Asian American. 

Baozhen.Luo@wwu.edu

Kelly Magee

English. Creative writing, lesbian/gay/bisexual/transgendered studies. 

Kelly.Magee@wwu.edu

Lori Martindale

Honors and WGSS. Gender studies; film and media studies; philosophy and literature; feminist theory; writing about literature. 

Lori.Martindale@wwu.edu

Mary Janell Metzger

English. Feminist, gender, and critical theory; early modern lit & culture; globalization and literature, globalization, women and literature.

Mary.Metzger@wwu.edu

Barbara Miller

Art History. Feminist art theory, contemporary women artists, and the representation of gender in modern and contemporary visual culture.

Barbara.Miller@wwu.edu

Kate Miller

WGSS. Introduction to Women Studies, lesbian/gay/bisexual/transgendered studies, creative writing, feminist theory.

Kate.Miller@wwu.edu

Carolyn Nielsen

Journalism. Diversity, mass media and social change as it relates to women's lives.

Carolyn.Nielsen@wwu.edu

Nancy Pagh

English. Gender and Pacific Northwest regional studies, women and environments, women and space. 

Nancy.Pagh@wwu.edu

Suzanne Paola

English. Creative writing, women and literature.

Suzanne.Paola@wwu.edu

Rachel Paul

Political Science. Women and politics.

Rachel.Paul@wwu.edu

Lysa Rivera

English. Chicano/a and African American literature and culture, science fiction, literature and culture. 

Lysa.Rivera@wwu.edu

Debra J. Salazar

Political Science. Queer politics, social justice, social change, women and environmental politics. 

Debra.Salazar@wwu.edu

Kathy Saunders

Anthropology. Gendered aspects of technoscience, reproduction and kinship, cross-cultural sex and gender.

Kathleen.Saunders@wwu.edu

Michael Schulze-Oechtering

History/ESJ/ACS. Social movements, ethnic studies, Asian-American and Black power movements, labor rights.

Michael.Schulze-Oechtering@wwu.edu

Rae Lynn A. Schwartz-DuPre

Communication and WGSS. Rhetoric, mass media and postcolonial communication. 

RaeLynn.Schwartz-DuPre@wwu.edu (Joint Appointment in Comm Studies and WGSS)

Ely Shipley

English.

shiplej@wwu.edu

Michael Slouber

Liberal Studies. South Asia history and culture, gender and sexuality. 

Michael.Slouber@wwu.edu

Tamara Spira

Fairhaven/American Cultural Studies. Transnational, de-colonial, and critical race feminist theories and praxis; queer of color and transnational sexuality studies and feminist critiques of militarism, prisons, and empires. 

Tamara.Spira@wwu.edu 

Anika Stafford

WGSS. Queer & feminist theory and methods, critical childhood studies, colonialism and North American history. 

Anika.Tilland-Stafford@wwu.edu

Midori Takagi

Fairhaven College. Race, class and gender, comparative studies of women of color.

Midori.Takagi@wwu.edu

Shurla Thibou

WGSS. Introduction to Women Studies, women and globalization. 

Shurla.Thibou@wwu.edu

Kate Trueblood

English. Women and literature, creative writing. 

Kathryn.Trueblood@wwu.edu

Chris Vargas

Art. Time-based art, queer radicalism, transgender hirstory, and imperfect role models. 

Chris.Vargas@wwu.edu

Verónica N. Vélez

Education and Social Justice/Woodring and Fairhaven. Critical race theory and Latina/o critical theory in education, Chicana feminist epistemologies, politics of parent engagement in educational reform, particularly for Latina/o (im)migrant families, and participatory action and community-based models of research. 

Veronica.Velez@wwu.edu

Theresa Warburton

English. Contemporary women's literature, Native literature, women of color and indigenous feminisms, feminist theory, anarchist studies, social justice. 

Theresa.Warburton@wwu.edu

Sara Weir

Political Science. Social and health policy, women and politics, feminist political theory.

Sara.Weir@wwu.edu (Emerita)

Cameron Whitley

Sociology.

whitlec@wwu.edu

Christopher Wise

International Studies. Colonization/Post colonization and expected gender roles.

Christopher.Wise@wwu.edu

Jane Wong

English. Creative writing, women of color in the literary arts, Asian American studies, digital humanities.

Jane.Wong@wwu.edu

Greg Youmans

English. Film and media studies, documentary and experimental cinema, LGBTQ history and historiography, and queer and feminist theory. 

Greg.Youmans@wwu.edu

Kathleen Young

Anthropology. Cross cultural gender roles. 

Kathleen.Young@wwu.edu

Sarah Zarrow

History. Jewish women's history and culture, gender and sexuality in Judaism. 

Sarah.Zarrow@wwu.edu

Sarah Zimmerman

History. Africa, colonialism, women and gender. 

Sarah.Zimmerman@wwu.edu