Affiliated Faculty

Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Program Faculty

Kristin Anderson, Sociology. Gender and society, the family in society, domestic violence and the criminal justice system. 
Kristin.Anderson@wwu.edu

Jeanne Armstrong, Library. Women studies, comparative cultural studies, scholarly communication.
 Jeanne.Armstrong@wwu.edu

Bidisha Biswas, Political Science. Diaspora politics, international relations, ethnic and civic conflicts, terrorism.
 Bidisha.Biswas@wwu.edu

Andrew Brown, Performance Art, Fairhaven College. Performing gender and sexuality, queer of color critique, queer and trans performance and activism, transnational gender and sexuality, African gender and sexuality. Andrew.Brown@wwu.edu

Josh Cerretti, History. Local and transnational feminisms, memory, trauma, and violence in wartime. 
Josh.Cerretti@wwu.edu

Maria Chavez, Anthropology. Latin America women with an emphasis on Central America women, Mayan indigenous women. 
Maria.Chavez@wwu.edu

Elizabeth Colen, English. Hybrid genres, experimental writing, ecopoetics, and literary collage. Elizabeth.Colen@wwu.edu

Susan Costanzo, History. Russian women's history and culture. Susan.Costanzo@wwu.edu

Shirin Deylami, Political Science. Feminist and queer theory; post-colonial and Islamic thought; and gender and Islam. 
Shirin.Deylami@wwu.edu

Julie Dugger, English. Women writers, gender and genre, the romance novel. Julie.Dugger@wwu.edu

Marie Eaton, Fairhaven College. Lesbian/gay/bisexual/transgendered issues in education.
 Marie.Eaton@wwu.edu

Lena Ericksen, Psychology. Gender issues. 
Lena.Ericksen@wwu.edu

Amanda Eurich, History. Gender, sexuality, and religion in early modern Europe. Amanda.Eurich@wwu.edu

Barbara Farrand, Psychology. Gender issues, learning and cognitive development, adolescent development.
 Barbara.Farrand@wwu.edu

Allison Giffen, English. Early 19th century American women writers and American women poets.
Allison.Giffen@wwu.edu

Carol Guess, English. Queer Studies, Creative Writing.
Carol.Guess@wwu.edu

Joyce Hammond, Anthropology. Cross-cultural women studies, gender in visual media and popular culture, gender and body, women's folk arts.
 Joyce.Hammond@wwu.edu

Pam Hardman, English. Women's literature, cultural studies, medical institutions' treatment of women.
 Pam.Hardman@wwu.edu

Vicki Hsueh, Political Science and WGSS Program Director. Feminist political theory, political participation and gender, post-colonialism, ethnicity, and race. 
Vicki.Hsueh@wwu.edu

Dana Jack, Fairhaven College. Gender issues in cultural contexts, including women's psychology, depression, eating disorders, anger and aggression in women. 
Dana.Jack@wwu.edu

Laura Laffrado, English. Early U.S. literature and culture, U.S. women's writing, women's autobiographical writing. 
Laura.Laffrado@wwu.edu

Anne Lobeck, English. Language and gender.
 Anne.Lobeck@wwu.edu

Jen Lois, Sociology. Social psychology, emotions, gender, qualitative methods. 
Jennifer.Lois@wwu.edu

Baozhen Luo, Sociology. Family and life course, social gerontology, Asian/Asian American. Baozhen.Luo@wwu.edu

Kelly Magee, English. Creative writing, lesbian/gay/bisexual/transgendered studies. Kelly.Magee@wwu.edu

Lori Martindale, Honors and WGSS. Gender studies; film and media studies; philosophy and literature; feminist theory; writing about literature. Lori.Martindale@wwu.edu

Mary Janell Metzger, English. Feminist, gender, and critical theory; early modern lit & culture; globalization and literature, globalization, women and literature.
 Mary.Metzger@wwu.edu

Barbara Miller, Art History. Feminist art theory, contemporary women artists, and the representation of gender in modern and contemporary visual culture.
 Barbara.Miller@wwu.edu

Kate Miller, WGSS. Introduction to Women Studies, lesbian/gay/bisexual/transgendered studies, creative writing, feminist theory. 
Kate.Miller@wwu.edu

Carolyn Nielsen, Journalism. Diversity, mass media and social change as it relates to women's lives. 
Carolyn.Nielsen@wwu.edu

Nancy Pagh, English. Gender and Pacific Northwest regional studies, women and environments, women and space. 
Nancy.Pagh@wwu.edu

Suzanne Paola, English. Creative writing, women and literature.
Suzanne.Paola@wwu.edu

Rachel Paul, Political Science. Women and politics.
Rachel.Paul@wwu.edu

Lysa Rivera, English. Chicano/a and African American literature and culture, science fiction, literature and culture. Lysa.Rivera@wwu.edu

Debra J. Salazar, Political Science. Queer politics, social justice, social change, women and environmental politics. Debra.Salazar@wwu.edu

Kathy Saunders, Anthropology. Gendered aspects of technoscience, reproduction and kinship, cross-cultural sex and gender.
 Kathleen.Saunders@wwu.edu

Rae Lynn A. Schwartz-DuPre, Communication. Rhetoric, mass media and postcolonial communication. RaeLynn.Schwartz-DuPre@wwu.edu

Michael Slouber, Liberal Studies. South Asia history and culture, gender and sexuality. Michael.Slouber@wwu.edu

Tamara Spira, Fairhaven/American Cultural Studies. Transnational, de-colonial, and critical race feminist theories and praxis; queer of color and transnational sexuality studies and feminist critiques of militarism, prisons, and empires. Tamara.Spira@wwu.edu 

Anika Stafford, WGSS. Queer & feminist theory and methods, critical childhood studies, colonialism and North American history. Anika.Tilland-Stafford@wwu.edu

Midori Takagi, Fairhaven College. Race, class and gender, comparative studies of women of color. 
Midori.Takagi@wwu.edu

Shurla Thibou, WGSS. Introduction to Women Studies, women and globalization.
 Shurla.Thibou@wwu.edu

Kate Trueblood, English. Women and literature, creative writing. Kathryn.Trueblood@wwu.edu

Chris Vargas, Art. Time-based art, queer radicalism, transgender hirstory, and imperfect role models. Chris.Vargas@wwu.edu

Verónica N. Vélez, Education and Social Justice/Woodring and Fairhaven. Critical race theory and Latina/o critical theory in education, Chicana feminist epistemologies, politics of parent engagement in educational reform, particularly for Latina/o (im)migrant families, and participatory action and community-based models of research. Veronica.Velez@wwu.edu

Theresa Warburton, English. Contemporary women's literature, Native literature, women of color and indigenous feminisms, feminist theory, anarchist studies, social justice. Theresa.Warburton@wwu.edu

Sara Weir, Political Science. Social and health policy, women and politics, feminist political theory. 
Sara.Weir@wwu.edu

Christopher Wise, International Studies. Colonization/Post colonization and expected gender roles.
 Christopher.Wise@wwu.edu

Jane Wong, English. Creative writing, women of color in the literary arts, Asian American studies, digital humanities.
 Jane.Wong@wwu.edu

Greg Youmans, English. Film and media studies, documentary and experimental cinema, LGBTQ history and historiography, and queer and feminist theory. Greg.Youmans@wwu.edu

Kathleen Young, Anthropology. Cross cultural gender roles. Kathleen.Young@wwu.edu

Sarah Zarrow, History. Jewish women's history and culture, gender and sexuality in JudaismSarah.Zarrow@wwu.edu

Sarah Zimmerman, History. Africa, colonialism, women and gender. Sarah.Zimmerman@wwu.edu