Faculty

The Center for East Asian Studies, an interdisciplinary, inter-departmental and inter-college program, draws upon the services of faculty from various units within the university. Approximately twenty (20) faculty members in various disciplines offer courses approved for inclusion in the East Asian Studies major.

Name Department Office Phone Email
Patrick Buckley Environmental Studies AH 222 360-650-4773 patrick.buckley@wwu.edu
Emi Bushelle History BH 348 360-650-3095 emi.bushelle@wwu.edu
Ethan Bushelle Liberal Studies BH 418F 360-650-7761 ethan.bushelle@wwu.edu
Masanori Deguchi Modern & Classical Languages MH 217E 360-650-4155 masanori.deguchi@wwu.edu
Margaret Fast Wilson Library HH 223 360-650-3174 margaret.fast@wwu.edu
James Hearne Computer Science CF 479 360-650-3792 james.hearne@wwu.edu
Colleen Laird Modern & Classical Languages MH 122A 360-650-4852 colleen.laird@wwu.edu
Yu Lei Modern & Classical Languages MH 122B 360-650-3923 yu.lei@wwu.edu
Baozhen Luo Sociology AH 531 360-650-7913 baozhen.luo@wwu.edu
Kristen Parris Political Science AH 422 360-650-4873 kristen.parris@wwu.edu
Scott Pearce Liberal Studies BH 152A 360-650-3897 scott.pearce@wwu.edu
Judy Pine Anthropology AH 338 360-650-4783 judy.pine@wwu.edu
Tom Roehl Management PH 211 360-650-4809 tom.roehl@wwu.edu
Wayne Richter Wilson Library HH 320G 360-650-3395 wayne.richter@wwu.edu
Julia Sapin Art History FI 111 360-650-3670 julia.sapin@wwu.edu
Henry Schwarz Professor Emeritus   360-733-0267 henry.schwarz@wwu.edu
Roger Thompson History BH 360 360-650-2342 roger.thompson@wwu.edu
Massimiliano Tomasi, Program Director Modern & Classical Languages MH 222C 360-650-3339 massimiliano.director@wwu.edu
Kathleen Tomlonovic Professor Emeritus     kathleen.tomlonovic@wwu.edu
Glenn Tsunokai Sociology AH 504 360-650-2540 glenn.tsunokai@wwu.edu
Edward Vajda Modern & Classical Languages MH 217D 360-650-4856 edward.vajda@wwu.edu
Li Wang Modern & Classical Languages MH 122B 360-650-7966 li.wang@wwu.edu
Julian Wu Modern & Classical Languages MH 217B 360-650-6122 julian.wu@wwu.edu
Janet (Zhiqun) Xing Modern & Classical Languages MH 218D 360-650-3926 janet.xing@wwu.edu
Michiko Yusa Modern & Classical Languages MS 218E 360-650-4851 michiko.yusa@wwu.edu