Faculty

 

Massimiliano Tomasi

Program Director

Massimiliano Tomasi
Office: Miller Hall 222C
Phone: 360.650.3339
EmailMassimiliano.Tomasi@wwu.edu

Ph.D., Nagoya University, Japan

Prof. Tomasi's areas of expertise include modern Japanese literature and rhetoric. He is the author of Rhetoric in Modern Japan: Western Influences on the Development of Narrative and Oratorical Style (University of Hawaii Press, 2004), The Literary Theory of Shimamura Hōgetsu (1871-1918) and the Development of Feminist Discourse in Modern Japan (Mellen, 2008),  and The Dilemma of Faith in Modern Japanese Literature: Metaphors of Christianity (Routledge, 2018). He is also the editor of Religion and Spirituality in Japanese Literature (PAJLS 16, 2015).

The Center for East Asian Studies, an interdisciplinary, inter-departmental and inter-college program, draws upon the services of faculty from various units within the university. Approximately twenty (20) faculty members in various disciplines offer courses approved for inclusion in the East Asian Studies major.

Patrick Buckley

DepartmentEnvironmental Studies

Office: AH 222
Phone: 360-650-4773
Emailpatrick.buckley@wwu.edu

Emi Bushelle

DepartmentHistory

Office: BH 348
Phone: 360-650-3095
Emailemi.bushelle@wwu.edu

Ethan Bushelle

DepartmentLiberal Studies

Office: BH 418F
Phone: 360-650-7761
Emailethan.bushelle@wwu.edu

Masanori Deguchi

DepartmentModern & Classical Languages

Office: MH 217E
Phone: 360-650-4155
Emailmasanori.deguchi@wwu.edu

Margaret Fast

DepartmentWilson Library

Office: HH 223
Phone: 360-650-3174
Emailmargaret.fast@wwu.edu

James Hearne

DepartmentComputer Science

Office: CF 479
Phone: 360-650-3792
Emailjames.hearne@wwu.edu
 

Colleen Laird

DepartmentModern & Classical Languages

Office: MH 122A
Phone: 360-650-4852
Emailcolleen.laird@wwu.edu

Yu Lei

DepartmentModern & Classical Languages

Office: MH 122B
Phone: 60-650-3923
Emailyu.lei@wwu.edu

Baozhen Luo

DepartmentSociology

Office: AH 531
Phone: 360-650-7913
Emailbaozhen.luo@wwu.edu

Kristen Parris

DepartmentPolitical Science

Office: AH 422
Phone: 360-650-4873
Emailkristen.parris@wwu.edu

Scott Pearce

DepartmentLiberal Studies

Office: BH 152A
Phone: 360-650-3897
Emailscott.pearce@wwu.edu

Judy Pine

DepartmentAnthropology

Office: AH 338
Phone: 360-650-4783
Emailjudy.pine@wwu.edu

Tom Roehl

DepartmentManagement

Office: PH 211
Phone: 360-650-4809
Emailtom.roehl@wwu.edu

Wayne Richter

DepartmentWilson Library

Office: HH 320G
Phone: 360-650-3395
Emailwayne.richter@wwu.edu

Julia Sapin

DepartmentArt History

Office: FI 111
Phone: 360-650-3670
Emailjulia.sapin@wwu.edu

Henry Schwarz

Professor Emeritus
Phone: 360-733-0267
Emailhenry.schwarz@wwu.edu

Roger Thompson

DepartmentHistory

Office: BH 360
Phone: 360-650-2342
Emailroger.thompson@wwu.edu

Massimiliano Tomasi

​Program Director

DepartmentModern & Classical Languages

Office: MH 222C
Phone: 360-650-3339
Emailmassimiliano.director@wwu.edu

Kathleen Tomlonovic

Emailkathleen.tomlonovic@wwu.edu

Glenn Tsunokai

DepartmentSociology

Office: AH 504
Phone: 360-650-2540
Emailglenn.tsunokai@wwu.edu

Edward Vajda

DepartmentModern & Classical Languages

Office: MH 217D
Phone: 360-650-4856
Emailedward.vajda@wwu.edu

Li Wang

DepartmentModern & Classical Languages

Office: MH 122B
Phone: 360-650-7966
Emailli.wang@wwu.edu

Julian Wu

DepartmentModern & Classical Languages

Office: MH 217B
Phone: 360-650-6122
Emailjulian.wu@wwu.edu

Janet (Zhiqun) Xing

DepartmentModern & Classical Languages

Office: MH 218D
Phone: 360-650-3926
Emailjanet.xing@wwu.edu

Michiko Yusa

DepartmentModern & Classical Languages

Office: MH 218E
Phone: 360-650-4851
Emailmichiko.yusa@wwu.edu