College of Humanities & Social Sciences

Faculty

The East Asian Studies Program, an interdisciplinary, inter-departmental and inter-college program, draws upon the services of faculty from various units within the university. Approximately twenty (20) faculty members in various disciplines offer courses approved for inclusion in the East Asian Studies major.

 

 

Program Director

Contact Info

Tomasi, Massimiliano

DepartmentModern & Classical Languages

Professor of Japanese

Office: MH 222C

Phone: 360-650-3339

Emailmtomasi@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Tomasi

Fall 2019 Office Hours: M 1:20-2:15; F 4-5

Office Staff

Contact Info

Brown, Angela

Program Coordinator

Office: MH 223

Phone: 360-650-3918

Emailbrowna59@wwu.edu

 

Professor

Contact Info

Buckley, Patrick

DepartmentEnvironmental Studies

Professor of Environmental Studies

Office: AH 222

Phone: 360-650-4773

Email: patrick@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Buckley

Bushelle, Emi

DepartmentHistory

Assistant Professor of History

Office: BH 348

Phone: 360-650-3095

Email: foulke@wwu.edu

Bushelle, Ethan

DepartmentLiberal Studies

Assistant Professor of Liberal Studies

Office: BH 418F

Phone: 360-650-7761

Email: bushele@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Ethan Bushelle

Deguchi, Masanori

DepartmentModern & Classical Languages

Associate Professor of Japanese and Linguistics

Office: MH 217E

Phone: 360-650-4155

Email: deguchm@wwu.edu

Fast, Margaret

DepartmentWilson Library

Email: margaret.fast@wwu.edu

Hearne, James

DepartmentComputer Science

Professor of Computer Science

Office: CF 479

Phone: 360-650-3792

Email: hearne@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Hearne

Laird, Colleen

DepartmentModern & Classical Languages

Assistant Professor of Japanese

Office: MH 215A

Phone: 360-650-4853

Email: lairdc@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Laird

Lei, Yu

DepartmentModern & Classical Languages

Visiting Assistant Professor of Chinese

Office: MH 122A

Phone: 360-650-4852

Emailleiy2@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Lei

Luo, Baozhen

DepartmentSociology

Office: HH 223

Phone: 360-650-7913

Emailluob@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Luo

Parris, Kristen

DepartmentPolitical Science

Associate Professor of Political Science

Office: AH 422

Phone: 360-650-4873

Emailparris@wwu.edu​

Photo of Dr. Parris

Pearce, Scott

DepartmentLiberal Studies

Professor of Liberal Studies

Office: BH 152A

Phone: 360-650-3897

Emailpearce@wwu.edu

Pine, Judy

DepartmentAnthropology

Associate Professor of Anthropology and Linguisitcs

Office: AH 338

Phone: 360-650-4783

Email: pinej@wwu.edu

Roehl, Tom

DepartmentManagement

Professor of Management

Office: PH 211

Phone: 360-650-4809

Email: roehlt@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Roehl

Richter, Wayne

DepartmentWilson Library

Library/Archives Paraprofessional

Office: HH 320G

Phone: 360-650-3395

Emailmonggol@wwu.edu

Sapin, Julia

DepartmentArt History

Professor of Art History, Chair of Art and Art History

Office: FI 111

Phone: 360-650-3670

Emailsapinj@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Sapin

Shimizu, Kaori

DepartmentModern & Classical Languages

Visiting Assistant Professor of Japanese

Office: MH 222D

360-650-7492

shimizk2@wwu.edu

Thompson, Roger

DepartmentHistory

Professor of History

Office: BH 360

Phone: 360-650-2342

Emailthompsr8@wwu.edu

Tsunokai, Glenn

DepartmentSociology

Professor of Sociology

Office: AH 504

Phone: 360-650-2540

Emailtsunokg@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Tsunokai

Vajda, Edward

DepartmentModern & Classical Languages

Professor of Russian and Linguistics

Office: MH 217D

Phone: 360-650-4856

Emailvajda@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Vajda

Wang, Li

DepartmentModern & Classical Languages

Visiting Assistant Professor of Chinese

Office: MH 218C

Phone: 360-650-3927

Emailwangl2@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Wang

Wu, Julian

DepartmentModern & Classical Languages

Assistant Professor of Chinese

Office: MH 217B

Phone: 360-650-6122

Emailwus6@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Wu

Xing, Janet (Zhiqun)

DepartmentModern & Classical Languages

Professor of Chinese and Linguistics

Office: MH 218D

Phone: 360-650-3926

Emailzxing@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Xing

Yu, Yeon

DepartmentAnthropology

Assistant Professor of Anthropology

Office: AH 311

Phone:360-650-2182

Email: yuy2@wwu.edu

Yusa, Michiko

DepartmentModern & Classical Languages

Professor of Japanese and East Asian Studies

Office: MH 218E

Phone: 360-650-4851

Emailyusa@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Yusa

Emeritus Faculty

Schwarz, Henry

360-733-0267

henry.schwarz@wwu.edu

 

Professor Emeritus of History/East Asian Studies. BA, MA, PhD, University of Wisconsin.
Photo of Dr. Schwarz

In Memoriam

Kathleen Tomlonovic

Professor Emeritus of Modern and Classical Languages. BA, Marycrest College; MEd, Fordham University; MA, University of Iowa; PhD, University of Washington. Photo of Sr. Tomlonovic