Faculty & Staff

Chair

Dr. Steve Woods - Department Chair, Professor, Director of Forensics

Email: Steven.Woods@wwu.edu
Phone: (360) 650-4879
Office: CF 293

Ph.D. Florida State University
M.A. Kansas State University
B.A. Kansas State University

Communication Studies Faculty

Dr. Rita Daniels - Assistant Professor

Email: Rita.Daniels@wwu.edu
Phone: (360) 650-6632
Office: CF 277

Ph.D., Communication Studies, 
West Virginia University, Morgantown, 2016
M.A., International Studies 
Ohio University, 2013
M.P., Business Communication 
University of Education, Ghana, 2013
B.E., English, 
University of Education, Ghana, 2009

Dr. Michael Karlberg - Professor

Web: http://faculty.wwu.edu/karlberg 
Email: Michael.Karlberg@wwu.edu
Phone: (360) 650-7367
Office: CF 289

Ph.D. Communication 
Simon Fraser University, School of Communication, 2000
M.A. Communication, 
Simon Fraser University, School of Communication, 1995
B.Ed. Teacher Certification, 
University of Toronto, Faculty of Education. 1992
B.A. Environmental Studies, 
University of California Santa Cruz, 1990

Dr. Ee Lin Lee - Professor

Email: EeLin.Lee@wwu.edu
Phone: (360) 650-4032
Office: CF 291

Ph.D., Cross-cultural and intercultural communication, 
University of New Mexico, 2005 
M.A., Interpersonal and intercultural communication, 
Western Michigan University, 2002
B.A., Communication studies, 
Western Michigan University, 2000

Dr. Tara Perry - Associate Professor

Web: https://taraperrywwu.wordpress.com/
Email:Tara.Perry@wwu.edu
Phone: (360) 650-2202
Office: CF 285

Ph.D., Cultural & Disability Studies 
Washington State University, 2005
MA, Communication 
Washington State University, 1996
BA, Journalism
Western Washington University, 1994

 

Dr. Rae Lynn Schwartz-DuPre -  Professor

Email: RaeLynn.Schwartz-DuPre@wwu.edu
Phone: (360) 650-4212
Office: CF 283

Ph.D., Communication Studies 
2006, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA
MA, Communication
2002, Wake Forest University, Winston-Salem, NC
BA, Women's Studies & Political Science 
1999, University of Vermont, Burlington, VT

Dr. Karen Rohrbauck Stout - Professor

Email: Karen.Stout@wwu.edu
Phone: (360) 650-2563
Office: AH 301

Ph.D., Communication 
2002, University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UT
MA, Communication 
1995, University of Montana, Missoula, MT 
BA, Communication
1992, University of Puget Sound, Seattle, WA 

Dr. Jianglong Wang - Professor

Email: Jianglong.Wang@wwu.edu
Phone: (360) 650-3869
Office: CF 279

Ph.D., Communication
1989, Northwestern University, Evantson, IL. 
M.A. Northwestern University
B.A. Fudan University

Dr. Mary Grace Antony - Visiting Assistant Professor

Email: MaryGrace.Antony@wwu.edu
Phone: (360) 650-7989
Office: CF 273

Ph.D., Communication, 
2010, Washington State University 
M.A., Mass Communication, 
2002, Symbiosis Institute of Mass Communication, India
B.A., Communicative English 
2000, St. Teresa’s College, Mahatma Gandhi University, India

Heather K. Davidson - Instructor

Email: Heather.Davidson@wwu.edu
Phone: (360) 650-2280
Office: CF 299

MEd., Continuing and College Education, 
2012, Western Washington University
B.A., Communication, 
2009, Western Washington University
Associates, Art & Science, 
2007, Whatcom Community College

Dr. Mary Erickson - Visiting Assistant Professor

Email: Mary.Erickson@wwu.edu
Phone: (360) 650-7989
Office: CF 273

Ph.D., Communication & Society, 
2011, University of Oregon
M.A., Film Studies, 
2001, Carleton University
B.A., International Communications, Political Science, 
1999, University of Washington

Korry Harvey - Senior Instructor and Assistant Director of Forensics

Email: Korry.Harvey@wwu.edu
Phone: (360) 650-3890
Office: CF 275

B.S., History
1998, Weber State University, Ogden, UT

Jennifer Hays - Senior Instructor

Email: Jennifer.Hays@wwu.edu
Phone: (360) 650-2571
Office: CF 287

M.A., Theatre 
1993, Florida State University, Tallahassee, FL
B.A., Communication 
1989, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS

Jason Lind - Senior Instructor

Email: Jason.Lind@wwu.edu

Phone: (360) 650-2572

Office: CF 297
M.A., Speech Communication
1998, University of Maine, Orono, ME 
B.A., Communication
1994, Western Washington University, Bellingham, WA

 

Mark Miller - Instructor

Email: Mark.Miller@wwu.edu
Phone: (360) 650-7407

B.A., Production Arts
2000, Fairhaven College
M.Ed., Western Washington University, Bellingham, WA

Amber Randall - Instructor

Email: Amber.Randall@wwu.edu
Phone: (360) 650-2572
Office: CF 297

M.A., Master of Education
2015, Washington State University
B.A., Communication Studies
2006, Western Washington University
 

Margaret Rockey - Instructor

Email: Margaret.Rockey@wwu.edu
Phone: (360) 650-4556
Office: CF 219

B.A., History and Politics 
2016, Whitman College, Walla Walla, WA

Kinny Torre - Instructor

Email: Joaquin.Torre@wwu.edu
Phone: (360) 650-4555
Office: CF 219

B.A., Law, Diversity & Justice  
2016, Fairhaven College and Western Washington University, Bellingham, WA

Rosemary Vohs - Senior Instructor

Website: www.wwu.edu/storytelling
Email: Rosemary.Vohs@wwu.edu
Phone: (360) 650-6446
Office: MH 402A 
B.A., Religion and Philosophy, Northwest College 
M.A., Communication, WWU

Dr. Anna Eblen - Professor Emeritus

Email: Anna.Eblen@wwu.edu
Ph.D., Rhetoric & Communication
1983, University of Oregon, Eugene, OR 
M.A., Communication Arts 
1978, University of West Florida, Pensacola, FL 
B.A., Psychology
1972, Duke University, Durham, NC

 

Academic Department Manager

Ann Reynolds

Email: Ann.Reynolds@wwu.edu
Phone: (360) 650-3870
Office: CF 295

B.A., Psychology/Sociology
1997, Western Washington University

Assistant Academic Department Manager

Michelle Reed Oppenheimer

Email: Michelle.ReedOppenheimer@wwu.edu
Phone: (360) 650-2294
Office: CF 295

Juris Doctor
1998, University of Pittsburgh School of Law  
B.S., Public Relations
1991, Syracuse University