Faculty & Staff

Modern and Classical Languages Office Hours Summer 2018

Mobile Users - Click HERE to view or download a PDF version of MCL Faculty and Staff Office Hours

Please contact instructors directly through telephone, email or at their office during office hours.  If you have questions about our programs, classes or need general information about MCL/Linguistics majors, minors, and/or applying please talk with one of our staff or Department Chair Shannon Dubenion-Smith. 

If you would like to search for faculty by language, please visit our Language Programs page HERE and click on the language of your choice, located on the left menu.

Office Staff

Hours of Operation

Office

Phone

Email

Holly Childs

Department Manager

M-F 8-3:30 MH 223A 360-650-3919 holly.childs@wwu.edu

Sara Helms

Administrative Assistant

M-F 8-4 MH 223 360-650-3918 sara.helms@wwu.edu

Professor

Office Hours or by Appointment

Office

Phone

Email

Alfers, Sandra

Professor of German

On Leave MH 215E 360-650-7427 sandra.alfers@wwu.edu

Aranda, Blanca

Assistant Professor of Spanish

Available by Email MH 128 360-650-2528 blanca.aranda@wwu.edu

Araniva, Mauricio

Senior Instructor of Spanish

8/2-8/20 M-F 7:50-8:50 MH 217C 360-650-2094 mauricio.araniva@wwu.edu

Carbajal, Amy

Senior Instructor of Spanish

By Appointment MH 216B 360-650-7967 amy.carbajal@wwu.edu

Deguchi, Masanori

Associate Professor of Japanese and Linguistics

On Leave MH 217E 360-650-4155 masanori.deguchi@wwu.edu

Drickey, Kirsten

Senior Instructor of Spanish

On Leave MH 218B 360-650-6149 kirsten.drickey@wwu.edu

Dubenion-Smith, Shannon

Chair, Associate Professor of German & Linguistics

7/30-9/6  MTR 10-11 MH 223B 360-650-2038 shannon.dubenion-smith@wwu.edu

Dwyer, Sean

Senior Instructor of Spanish

  MH 216C 360-650-3836 sean.dwyer@wwu.edu

Engelsing, Eduardo

Assistant Professor of Classical Studies

On Leave MH 122C 360-650-7964 eduardo.engelsing@wwu.edu

Fiero, Petra 

Professor of German

On Leave MH 217A 360-650-4860 petra.fiero@wwu.edu

García, Hugo

Associate Professor of Spanish

By Appointment MH 226 360-650-4201 hugo.garcia@wwu.edu

Hanania, Cécile

​Professor of French

6/26-7/13 By Appointment MH 126 360-650-4858 cecile.hanania@wwu.edu

Hoffman, Joan

Professor of Spanish

On Leave MH 222A 360-650-4803 joan.hoffman@wwu.edu

Hussein, Tamer

Senior Instructor of Arabic

On Leave MH 230 360-650-2093 husseit@wwu.edu

Keppie, Christina

Associate Professor of French

Available by Email MH 215D 360-650-3930 christina.keppie@wwu.edu

Krause, Miller

Visiting Assistant Professor of Classical Studies

On Leave MH 122D 360-650-4269 krause.miller@wwu.edu

Kusakabe, Madoka

Instructor of Japanese

By Appointment MH 222D 360-650-7492 madoka.kusakabe@wwu.edu

Laird, Colleen

Assistant Professor of Japanese

On Leave MH122A 360-650-4852 colleen.laird@wwu.edu

Lei, Yu

Instructor of Chinese

On Leave MH 122B 360-650-3923 yu.lei@wwu.edu

Mata, Rodolfo

Assistant Professor of Spanish and Linguistics

On Leave MH 228 360-650-3925 r.mata@wwu.edu

Ousselin, Edward

Professor of French

On Leave MH 216A 360-650-2092 edward.ousselin@wwu.edu

Partsch, Cornelius  

Professor of German

On Leave MH 216E 360-650-3929 cornelius.partsch@wwu.edu

Patterson, Charles

Associate Professor of Spanish

Available by Email MH 216D 360-650-2154 charles.patterson@wwu.edu

Portugal, Luis Gonzalo

Senior Instructor of Spanish

Available by Email MH 222B 360-650-4200 luis.portugal@wwu.edu

Rangel, Mary Anne

Senior Instructor of Spanish

By Appointment MH 218A 360-650-4802 maryanne.rangel-guerrero@wwu.edu

Stayskal, Byron

Visiting Assistant Professor of Classical Studies

On Leave MH 122E 360-650-4854 byron.stayskal@wwu.edu

Taylor, Scott

Senior Instructor of French

By Appointment MH 218F 360-650-4536 scott.taylor@wwu.edu

Tomasi, Massimiliano

Professor of Japanese

Available by Email MH 222C 360-650-3339 massimiliano.tomasi@wwu.edu

Vajda, Edward

Professor of Russian

Available by Email MH 217D 360-650-4856 edward.vajda@wwu.edu

Wang, Li

Instructor of Chinese

On Leave MH 122B 360-650-7966 li.wang@wwu.edu

Winter, Julie

Visiting Assistant Professor of German

On Leave MH 222B 360-650-4394 julie.winter@wwu.edu

Wu, Julian

Assistant Professor of Chinese

On Leave MH 217B 360-650-6122 julian.wu@wwu.edu

Xing, Janet

Professor of Chinese and Linguistics

On Leave MH 218D 360-650-3926 janet.xing@wwu.edu

Yusa, Michiko

Professor of Japanese and East Asian Studies

On Leave MH 218E 360-650-4851 yusa.dr@gmail.com
         
         
         


Updated 04/05/2018