Faculty & Staff

Modern and Classical Languages Office Hours Winter 2019

Mobile Users - View or download a PDF version of MCL Faculty and Staff Office Hours

Please contact instructors directly through telephone, email or at their office during office hours.  If you have questions about our programs, classes or need general information about MCL/Linguistics majors, minors, and/or applying please talk with one of our staff or Department Chair Shannon Dubenion-Smith

If you would like to search for faculty by language, please visit our Language Programs page and click on the language of your choice, located on the left menu.

Department Chair

Office Hours or by Appointment

Office

Contact Info

 

Dubenion-Smith, Shannon

Chair, Associate Professor of German & Linguistics

MWF 12-1 MH 223B

360-650-2038

dubenis@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Smith

Office Staff

Hours of Operation

Office

Contact Info

 

Childs, Holly

Department Manager

M-F 8-4 MH 223A

360-650-3919

carrh@wwu.edu

Photo of Holly Childs

Helms, Sara

Administrative Assistant

M-F 8-5 MH 223

360-650-3918

helmss@wwu.edu

Photo of Sara Helms

Professor

Office Hours or by Appointment

Office

Contact Info

 

Alfers, Sandra

Professor of German

W 1-2:30 in WL 572 

MH 215E

&WL 572

360-650-7427

360-650-7786

alferss@wwu.edu

 

Aranda, Blanca

Associate Professor of Spanish

  MH 128

360-650-2528

arandab@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Aranda

Araniva, Mauricio

Senior Instructor of Spanish

MWF 7:50-8:20; 12:50-1:20 MH 217C

360-650-2094

aranivm@wwu.edu

 

Carbajal, Amy

Senior Instructor of Spanish

MWF 10-11 MH 216B

360-650-7967

carbamy@wwu.edu

 

Deguchi, Masanori

Associate Professor of Japanese and Linguistics

MTW 2-3 MH 217E

360-650-4155

deguchm@wwu.edu

 

Drickey, Kirsten

Visiting Assistant Professor of Spanish

  MH 218B

360-650-6149

drickek@wwu.edu

 

Dwyer, Sean

Senior Instructor of Spanish

  MH 216C

360-650-3836

dwyers2@wwu.edu

Photo of Sean Dwyer

Engelsing, Eduardo

Assistant Professor of Classical Studies

WF 11:30-12:30 MH 122C

360-650-7964

engelse@wwu.edu

 

Fiero, Petra 

Professor of German

MW 2-3:30 MH 217A

360-650-4860

fiero@wwu.edu

 

García, Hugo

Associate Professor of Spanish

MWF 8:20-9:30 MH 226

360-650-4201

garciah2@wwu.edu

 

Hanania, Cécile

​Professor of French

T 4:30-6:30 MH 126

360-650-4858

hananic@wwu.edu

 

Hoffman, Joan

Professor of Spanish

M 9-12 MH 222A

360-650-4803

jmhoffma@wwu.edu

 

Hussein, Tamer

Visiting Assistant Professor of Arabic

MW 4:30-6 MH 230

360-650-2093

husseit@wwu.edu

 

Keppie, Christina

Associate Professor of French

T 3-4:30; R 2-4:30 MH 215D

360-650-3930

keppiec@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Keppie

Krause, Miller

Visiting Assistant Professor of Classical Studies

MWF 2:30-3 MH 122D

360-650-4269

krausem@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Krause

Laird, Colleen

Assistant Professor of Japanese

MW 1-2 MH 215A

360-650-4853

lairdc@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Laird

Lei, Yu

Visiting Assistant Professor of Chinese

MWR 11:30-12:30 MH 122A

360-650-4852

leiy2@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Lei

Mata, R.

Assistant Professor of Spanish and Linguistics

MF 4-5 MH 228

360-650-3925

matar@wwu.edu

 

Ousselin, Edward

Professor of French

TR 11-11:50 MH 216A

360-650-2092

oussele@wwu.edu

 

Partsch, Cornelius  

Professor of German

T 12:30-3:30 MH 216E

360-650-3929

partscc@wwu.edu

 

Patterson, Charles

Associate Professor of Spanish

On Leave MH 216D

360-650-2154

patterc5@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Patterson

Portugal, Luis Gonzalo

Visiting Assistant Professor of Spanish

  MH 222B

360-650-4200

portugl@wwu.edu

Photo for Dr. Portugal

Rams, Maribel

Visiting Assistant Professor of Spanish

T 2-3; R 2-4 MH 122B

360-650-3923

ramsm@wwu.edu

Photo of Maribel Rams

Rangel, Mary Anne

Senior Instructor of Spanish

  MH 218A

360-650-4802

ramsm@wwu.edu

 

Rowan, Sarah

Visiting Instructor of Spanish

W 9:50-10:50 MH 222D

360-650-7965

rowans@wwu.edu

 

Schlitt, David

Visiting Instructor of Yiddish

MW 4-5 MH 230

360-650-3091

schlitd@wwu.edu

 

Shimizu, Kaori

Visiting Assistant Professor of Japanese

MWF 12-12:50 MH 222D

360-650-7492

shimizk2@wwu.edu

 

Stayskal, Byron

Visiting Assistant Professor of Classical Studies

T 1-2 MH 122E

360-650-4854

stayskb@wwu.edu

 

Taylor, Scott

Visiting Assistant Professor of French

MW 2-3:30 MH 218F

360-650-4536

taylo26@wwu.edu

 

Tomasi, Massimiliano

Professor of Japanese

M 1:30-2:20; F 3:45-4:45 MH 222C

360-650-3339

mtomasi@wwu.edu

 

Vajda, Edward

Professor of Russian

MWF 11-11:30 & at or after 2 by appt. MH 217D

360-650-4856

vajda@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Vajda

Wang, Li

Visiting Assistant Professor of Chinese

MWF 1:30-2:30 MH 218C

360-650-3927

wangl2@wwu.edu

 

White, Judith

Instructor of French and Spanish

TR 4-5

MH 122B

360-650-7966

whitej36@wwu.edu

 

Winter, Julie

Visiting Assistant Professor of German

MW 1-2 MH 222B

360-650-4394

winterj8@wwu.edu

 

Wu, Julian

Assistant Professor of Chinese

TR 3:30-4:45 MH 217B

360-650-6122

wus6@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Wu

Xing, Janet

Professor of Chinese and Linguistics

TR 12-1:30 MH 218D

360-650-3926

zxing@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Xing

Yusa, Michiko

Professor of Japanese and East Asian Studies

  MH 218E

360-650-4851

yusa.dr@gmail.com

 


Updated 01/07/2019