College of Humanities & Social Sciences

Faculty & Staff

Modern and Classical Languages Office Hours Fall 2019

Please contact instructors directly through telephone, email or at their office during office hours.  If you have questions about our programs, classes or need general information about MCL majors, minors, and/or applying, please talk with one of our staff or Department Chair Shannon Dubenion-Smith

 

Department Chair

Office Hours or by Appointment

Office

Contact Info

 

Dubenion-Smith, Shannon

Chair, Associate Professor of German & Linguistics

MWF 11:30-12:30 MH 223B

360-650-2038

dubenis@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Smith

Office Staff

Hours of Operation

Office

Contact Info

 

Childs, Holly

Department Manager

M-F 8-4 MH 223A

360-650-3919

carrh@wwu.edu

Photo of Holly Childs

Brown, Angela

Program Coordinator

M-F 8-5 MH 223

360-650-3918

browna59@wwu.edu

Professor

Office Hours or by Appointment

Office

Contact Info

 

Alfers, Sandra

Professor of German

by appt.

MH 215E

& WL 572

360-650-7427

360-650-7786

alferss@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Alfers

Aranda, Blanca

Associate Professor of Spanish

On Leave MH 128

360-650-2528

arandab@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Aranda

Araniva, Mauricio

Senior Instructor of Spanish

MWF 7:50-8:20, 12:55-1:25

MH 217C

360-650-2094

aranivm@wwu.edu

 

Bernardo-Hinesley, Sheryl

Assistant Professor of Spanish and Linguistics

W 12:30-2:00

R 10:30-12:00

MH 122A

360-650-4852

bernars3@wwu.edu

Bond, Nathaniel

Visiting Assistant Professor of Japanese

MWF 4:00-5:00 MH 222B

360-650-4394

bondn2@wwu.edu

 

Carbajal, Amy

Senior Instructor of Spanish

MWF 10:00-11:00 MH 216B

360-650-7967

carbamy@wwu.edu

 

Deguchi, Masanori

Associate Professor of Japanese and Linguistics

MW 2:30-3:30

F 11:30-12:30

MH 217E

360-650-4155

deguchm@wwu.edu

 

Drickey, Kirsten

Senior Instructor of Spanish

MF 9:00-9:50

W 1:00-1:50

MH 218F

360-650-4536

drickek@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Drickey

Dwyer, Sean

Senior Instructor of Spanish

MWF 1:20-2:20 MH 216C

360-650-3836

dwyers2@wwu.edu

Photo of Sean Dwyer

Engelsing, Eduardo

Associate Professor of Classical Studies

MW 1:00-2:00 MH 122C

360-650-2711

engelse@wwu.edu

 

Fiero, Petra 

Professor of German

MW 2:00-3:00 MH 217A

360-650-4860

fiero@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Fiero

Forsythe, Jenny

Instructor of French

MW 2:30-3:30

F 10:00-11:00

MH 122B

360-650-7966

forsytj3@wwu.edu

 

García, Hugo

Associate Professor of Spanish

TR 10:30-12:30 MH 226

360-650-4201

garciah2@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Garcia

Hanania, Cécile

​Professor of French

MWF 1:00-2:00 MH 126

360-650-4858

hananic@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Hanania

Hoffman, Joan

Professor of Spanish

MWF 2:00-3:00 MH 222A

360-650-4803

jmhoffma@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Hoffman

Hussein, Tamer

Visiting Assistant Professor of Arabic

MW 4:30-6:00 MH 230

360-650-2093

husseit@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Hussein

Keppie, Christina

Professor of French and Linguistics

TR 12:30-2:30 MH 215D

360-650-3930

keppiec@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Keppie

Krause, Miller

Visiting Assistant Professor of Classical Studies

M-F 2:30-3:30 MH 122D

360-650-4269

krausem@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Krause

Laird, Colleen

Associate Professor of Japanese

on leave MH 215A

360-650-4853

lairdc@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Laird

Lei, Yu

Visiting Assistant Professor of Chinese

M 2:40-3:40

TR 11:20-12:20

MH 218B

360-650-6149

leiy2@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Lei

Mata, R.

Assistant Professor of Spanish and Linguistics

MF 4:15-5:00 MH 228

360-650-3927

matar@wwu.edu

Photo for Dr. Mata

Ousselin, Edward

Professor of French

MWF 12:00-12:50 MH 216A

360-650-2092

oussele@wwu.edu

 

Partsch, Cornelius  

Professor of German

MW 2:30-4:00 MH 216E

360-650-3929

partscc@wwu.edu

Patterson, Charles

Associate Professor of Spanish

TR 9:00-10:50 MH 216D

360-650-2154

patterc5@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Patterson

Portugal, Luis Gonzalo

Senior Instructor of Spanish

MW 2:30-3:30 MH 222B

360-650-4200

portugl@wwu.edu

Photo for Dr. Portugal

Rams, Maribel

Visiting Assistant Professor of Spanish

W 12:30-2:30

F 1:30-2:30

MH 122B

360-650-3923

ramsm@wwu.edu

Photo of Maribel Rams

Rangel, Mary Anne

Senior Instructor of Spanish

MWF 1:00-2:00 MH 218A

360-650-4802

ramsm@wwu.edu

 

Rowan, Sarah

Senior Instructor of Spanish

W 1:30-2:30 MH 222D

360-650-7965

rowans@wwu.edu

 

Schlitt, David

Visiting Instructor of Yiddish

On Leave MH 230

360-650-3091

schlitd@wwu.edu

 

Smith, Lindsey

Assistant Professor of French

MW 2:30-4:00 MH 228

360-650-3925

smithl69@wwu.edu

 

Stayskal, Byron

Visiting Assistant Professor of Classical Studies

T 1:00-2:00 MH 122E

360-650-4854

stayskb@wwu.edu

 


Su, Wenling

Instructor of Chinese

MTW 10:00-11:00 MH 222D

360-650-7965

suw@wwu.edu

 

Tomasi, Massimiliano

Professor of Japanese

M 1:20-2:15

F 4:00-5:00

MH 222C

360-650-3339

mtomasi@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Tomasi

Vajda, Edward

Professor of Russian

MWF 11:00-11:30

MW 2:30-3:00

MH 217D

360-650-4856

vajda@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Vajda

Winter, Julie

Visiting Assistant Professor of German

MW 1:00-2:00 MH 215C

360-650-4394

winterj8@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Winter

Wu, Julian

Assistant Professor of Chinese

MWF 9:00-10:00 MH 217B

360-650-6122

wus6@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Wu

Xing, Janet

Professor of Chinese and Linguistics

MWF 11:00-12:00 MH 218D

360-650-3926

zxing@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Xing

Yusa, Michiko

Professor of Japanese and East Asian Studies

TR 2:20-2:50 MH 218E

360-650-4851

yusa@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Yusa