Internet Resources

Professional Organizations

Name Website
Society for Public Health Education (SOPHE) http://www.sophe.org
Pacific Northwest SOPHE http://pnwsophe.org/
Society of Health and Physical Educators (formerly AAHPERD) http://www.shapeamerica.org
American Association for Health Education (formerly AAHE) http://www.shapeamerica.org
American School Health Association (ASHA) http://www.ashaweb.org
American Public Health Association (APHA) http://www.apha.org
American College Health Association http://www.acha.org/
Directors of Health Promotion and Education https://dhpe.site-ym.com/
Coalition of National Health Education Organizations http://healtheducationadvocate.org/

International and Federal Government Organizations

Name Website
World Health Organization (WHO) http://www.who.org
Pan American Health Organizations http://www.paho.org/hq/
U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services https://www.hhs.gov/
National Institutes of Health (NIH) https://www.nih.gov/institutes-nih
NIH National Center on Minority Health & Health Disparities https://www.nimhd.nih.gov/
Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC) https://www.cdc.gov/
CDC National Center for Health Statistics https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) https://www.epa.gov/
U.S. Census Bureau https://www.census.gov/
Statistical Abstracts https://www.census.gov/library/publications/time-series/statistical_abstracts.html

State, County, and Local Health Departments

Name Website
WA State Dept. of Health http://www.doh.wa.gov/
WA State Local Health Departments/Districts

http://www.doh.wa.gov/AboutUs/PublicHealthSystem/LocalHealthJurisdictions

Career Opportunities

Name Website
Pacific Northwest SOPHE
http://pwnsophe.org/
HP Career.net https://www.hpcareer.net/
American Public Health Association Career Mart http://careers.apha.org/jobseekers/
Idealist: Action Without Borders http://www.idealist.org/
National Environmental Health Association http://www.neha.org/professional-development/careers
Public Health Jobs http://publichealthjobs.org/
Nonprofit Career Network http://www.nonprofitcareer.com/
   

Resource Websites

Name Website
Health Education Resource Exchange (H.E.R.E.) http://here.doh.wa.gov/
Community Tool Box http://ctb.ku.edu/en
Social Marketing Institute http://www.socialmarketing.com/
Health Canada Social Marketing Network http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/ahc-asc/activit/marketsoc/index_e.html
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly https://www.cdc.gov/MMWR/
National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine (Health and Medicine Division) http://iom.nationalacademies.org/
Plain Language: Improving Communication from the Federal Gov't to the Public http://www.plainlanguage.gov/

General Websites

 

Name Website
American Cancer Society https://www.cancer.org/
American Heart Association https://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/
Partners in Health http://www.pih.org/
American Red Cross http://www.redcross.org/
Peace Corps http://www.peacecorps.gov/
The Arthritis Foundation http://www.arthritis.org/
International Women's Health Coalition https://iwhc.org/
Whatcom Alliance for Health Advancement (WAHA) http://whatcomalliance.org/
AmeriCorps

http://www.nationalservice.gov/
programs/americorps

Teach for America http://www.teachforamerica.org/
Quick Reference for APA Style Guide http://libguides.wwu.edu/content.php?pid=
123723&sid=1169501