Faculty & Staff

Office Hours and Contact Info

For questions about our program, classes, registration, the major or minor requirements, or general information about linguistics, please contact the Department Chair Kristin Denham by email (preferred), denham@wwu.edu, or by phone, 360-650-3217You can also contact the Department Manager Sara Helms by email (preferred), helmss@wwu.edu, or by phone, 360-650-3914.

Summer 2021 Office Hours

Chair, Major/Minor Advisor Office Hours
Name Office hours or by appt. Office Phone Email
Denham, Kristin

Please contact by email

BH  418D 360-650-3217 denham@wwu.edu
Professor Office Hours
Name Office hours or by appt Office Phone Email
Bernardo-Hinesley, Sheryl On leave MH 122A 360-650-4852 sheryl.bernardo@wwu.edu
Curtis, Emily By email or Zoom appointment BH 418A 360-650-3938 curtise2@wwu.edu
Dawson, Virginia On leave BH 418E 360-650-3292 dawsonv@wwu.edu
Deguchi, Masanori On leave MH 217E 360-650-4155 deguchm@wwu.edu
Dubenion-Smith, Shannon Please contact by email MH 223B 360-650-2038 debunis@wwu.edu
Jantzen, McNeel Gordon By Appointment BH 418C 360-650-2247 jantzem@wwu.edu
Keppie, Christina Please contact by email MH 215D 360-650-3930 keppiec@wwu.edu
Lobeck, Anne Please contact by email BH 418B 360-650-3249 annelob@wwu.edu
Mata, R. On leave MH 218C 360-650-3925 matar@wwu.edu
Pine, Judith Please contact by email AH 338 360-650-4783 pinej@wwu.edu
Sandoval, Jordan On leave BH 418F 360-650-3931 crossfj@wwu.edu
Vajda, Edward Please contact by email MH 217D 360-650-4856 vajda@wwu.edu
Xing, Janet On leave MH 218D 360-650-3926 zxing@wwu.edu
Office Staff, Major/Minor Advisor
Name Office hours or by appt Office Phone Email
Sara Helms By email or Zoom appointment BH 403 360-650-3914 helmss@wwu.edu

Download Office Hours as a PDF

Department Chair

Kristin Denham, PhD

Professor Linguistics Major/Minor Advisor
BH 418D

Staff

Sara Helms

Department Manager
she/her/hers
BH 403

Faculty

Emeritus

Rudolf Weiss

Professor Emeritus of Modern and Classical Languages

Affiliated Faculty

Masanori Deguchi, PhD

Associate Professor of Japanese and Linguistics Japanese Study Abroad Advisor
Miller Hall 217E

R. Mata

Assistant Professor
MH 218C

Edward Vajda, PhD

Professor of Russian and Linguistics; Russian and Eurasian Studies Advisor
Miller Hall 217D

Janet Xing, PhD

Professor of Chinese and Linguistics Chinese Major and Minor Advisor
MH 218D

Research Associates

John Lawler

Research Associate

In Memoriam

Shaw Gynan

Professor Emeritus of Spanish and Linguistics

Chair, Major/Minor Advisor Office Hours
Name Office hours or by appt. Office Phone Email
Denham, Kristin

On Leave

BH  418D 360-650-3217 denham@wwu.edu
Professor Office Hours
Name Office hours or by appt Office Phone Email
Bernardo-Hinseley, Sheryl Zoom: 1-2 MH 122A 360-650-4852 sheryl.bernardo@wwu.edu
Curtis, Emily Please contact by email BH 418A 360-650-3938 curtise2@wwu.edu
Deguchi, Masanori Please contact by email MH 217E 360-650-4155 deguchm@wwu.edu
Dubenion-Smith, Shannon Please contact by email MH 223B 360-650-2038 debunis@wwu.edu
Jantzen, McNeel Gordon Please contact by email BH 418C 360-650-2247 jantzem@wwu.edu
Keppie, Christina Please contact by email MH 215D 360-650-3930 keppiec@wwu.edu
Lobeck, Anne Zoom: 3-4 BH 418B 360-650-3249 annelob@wwu.edu
Mata, R. Via Zoom by appointment MH 218C 360-650-3925 matar@wwu.edu
Pine, Judith Please contact by email AH 338 360-650-4783 pinej@wwu.edu
Sandoval, Jordan Please contact by email BH 418F 360-650-3931 vajda@wwu.edu
Vajfda, Edward Please contact by email MH 217D 360-650-4856 zxing@wwu.edu
Xing, Janet Please contact by email MH 218D 360-650-3926  
Office Staff, Major/Minor Advisor
Name Office hours or by appt Office Phone Email
Sara Helms By email or Zoom appointment BH 403 360-650-3914 helmss@wwu.edu

Download Office Hours as a PDF

Linguistics Department Associated Faculty

Name Title Home Department Office Phone Email
Beth Dillard Assistant Professor Elementary Education MH 304A 360-650-3314 beth.dillard@wwu.edu
Jennifer Green Associate Professor Elementary Education MH 303B 360-650-2395 jennifer.green@wwu.edu
James Hearne Professor Computer Science CF 479 360-650-3792 james.hearne@wwu.edu
Tamer Hussein Visiting Assistant Professor Modern and Classical Languages MH 230 360-650-2093 husseit@wwu.edu
Brian Hutchinson Associate Professor Computer Science CF 475 360-650-4894 brian.hutchinson@wwu.edu
Yu Lei Visiting Assistant Professor Modern and Classical Languages MH 122 A 360-650-4852 leiy2@wwu.edu
Yudong Liu Associate Professor Computer Science CF 483 360-650-4831 yudong.liu@wwu.edu
Cathy McDonald Senior Instructor English HU 349 360-650-3236 cathy.mcdonald@wwu.edu
Heather Moore Assistant Professor Communication Sciences and Disorders AIC 374 360-650-7536 heather.moore@wwu.edu
Trish Skillman Senior Instructor TESOL MH 304E 360-650-4699 trish.skillman@wwu.edu
Jennifer Thistle Assistant Professor Communication Sciences and Disorders AIC 378 360-650-3157 thistlj@wwu.edu
Kathryn Vulić Professor English HU 335 360-650-3214 kathryn.vulic@wwu.edu
Ryan Wasserman Professor Philosophy BH 302A 360-650-3860 ryan.wasserman@wwu.edu
Suzi Wright Instructor TESOL MH 304D 360-650-2551 suzanne.wright@wwu.edu