Faculty & Staff

Office Hours and Contact Info

The physical office of the Department of  Linguistics in Bond Hall will be open most weekdays between the hours of 8 a.m. and 5 p.m., but there are many things Kristin Denham and Sara Helms can assist you with by phone or email. They can help with advising, declaring a major or minor, or completing a degree evaluation electronically.

For questions about our program, classes, registration, the major or minor requirements, general information about linguistics, or to make an in-person advising appointment, please contact the Department Chair Kristin Denham by email (preferred), denham@wwu.edu, or by phone, 360-650-3217You can also contact the Department Manager Sara Helms by email (preferred), helmss@wwu.edu, or by phone, 360-650-3914.

Have a quick question? Text Sara on Teams. (On mobile, sign in to the Teams app with your Western username and password.)

Fall 2021 Office Hours

Chair, Major/Minor Advisor Office Hours
Name Office hours or by appt Office Phone Email
Denham, Kristin

M 3-4; W 2-3, In-person or by Zoom
Use Zoom meeting ID: 962 4595 8346

BH 418G 360-650-3217 denham@wwu.edu

Professor Office Hours

Name Office hours or by appt Office Phone Email
Bernardo-Hinesley, Sheryl Please contact by email MH 122A 360-650-4852 sheryl.bernardo@wwu.edu
Curtis, Emily By email or Zoom appointment BH 418A 360-650-3938 curtise2@wwu.edu
Dawson, Virginia Please contact by email BH 418E 360-650-3292 dawsonv@wwu.edu
Deguchi, Masanori Please contact by email MH 217E 360-650-4155 deguchm@wwu.edu
Denham, Kristin M 1-2, R 2-3, In-person or by Zoom
Zoom Meeting ID: 976 3048 3601
BH 418G 360-650-3217 denham@wwu.edu
Dubenion-Smith, Shannon

MW 10-11, In person

TR 10:30-11:30, by Zoom

MH 223B 360-650-2038 debunis@wwu.edu
Jantzen, McNeel Gordon On Leave BH 418C 360-650-2247 jantzem@wwu.edu
Keppie, Christina Please contact by email MH 215D 360-650-3930 keppiec@wwu.edu
Lobeck, Anne Please contact by email BH 418B 360-650-3249 annelob@wwu.edu
Mata, R. By apointment, via Zoom MH 218C 360-650-3925 matar@wwu.edu
Pine, Judith Please contact by email AH 338 360-650-4783 pinej@wwu.edu
Sandoval, Jordan T 10-11:20, In-person BH 418F 360-650-3931 crossfj@wwu.edu
Vajda, Edward Please contact by email MH 217D 360-650-4856 vajda@wwu.edu
Xing, Janet Please contact by email MH 218D 360-650-3926 zxing@wwu.edu
Office Staff, Major/Minor Advisor
Name Office hours or by appt Office Phone Email
Sara Helms By email or book an appointment on Microsoft Bookings. BH 418D 360-650-3914 helmss@wwu.edu

Download Office Hours as a PDF

Faculty

Kristin Denham, PhD

Chair Professor Linguistics Major/Minor Advisor
BH 418G

Affiliated Faculty

A branching plant with pink-red leaves in front of a light-blue background, illustration

Masanori Deguchi, PhD

Associate Professor of Japanese and Linguistics Japanese Study Abroad Advisor
Miller Hall 217E
Shannon Dubenion-Smith stands outside a brick building, near a green shrub.

Shannon Dubenion-Smith

Chair of MCL Associate Professor of German and Linguistics Latin/Greek/Classical Studies Advisor Chinese Major/Minor Advisor
MH 223B
Christina Keppie, with short brown hair streaked blond, smiles while looking to the right

Christina Keppie, PhD

Professor of French and Linguistics Director for the Center of Canadian-American Studies
MH 215D
R Mata with short dark hair wearing a fleece zipper jacket, black and white portrait

R. Mata, PhD

Assistant Professor
MH 218C
Edward Vajda outside, standing in front of log building

Edward Vajda, PhD

Professor of Russian and Linguistics; Russian and Eurasian Studies Advisor
Miller Hall 217D
Janet Xing standing in front of a bookcase

Janet Xing, PhD

Professor of Chinese and Linguistics Chinese Major and Minor Advisor
MH 218D

Staff

Sara Helms

Department Manager
she/her/hers
BH 418D

Emeritus

Rudolf Weiss

Professor Emeritus of Modern and Classical Languages

In Memoriam

Shaw Gynan

Professor Emeritus of Spanish and Linguistics

Linguistics Department Associated Faculty

Name Title Home Department Office Phone Email
Beth Dillard Assistant Professor Elementary Education MH 304A 360-650-3314 beth.dillard@wwu.edu
Jennifer Green Associate Professor Elementary Education MH 303B 360-650-2395 jennifer.green@wwu.edu
James Hearne Professor Computer Science CF 479 360-650-3792 james.hearne@wwu.edu
Tamer Hussein Visiting Assistant Professor Modern and Classical Languages MH 230 360-650-2093 husseit@wwu.edu
Brian Hutchinson Associate Professor Computer Science CF 475 360-650-4894 brian.hutchinson@wwu.edu
Yu Lei Visiting Assistant Professor Modern and Classical Languages MH 122 A 360-650-4852 leiy2@wwu.edu
Yudong Liu Associate Professor Computer Science CF 483 360-650-4831 yudong.liu@wwu.edu
Cathy McDonald Senior Instructor English HU 349 360-650-3236 cathy.mcdonald@wwu.edu
Heather Moore Assistant Professor Communication Sciences and Disorders AIC 374 360-650-7536 heather.moore@wwu.edu
Trish Skillman Senior Instructor TESOL MH 304E 360-650-4699 trish.skillman@wwu.edu
Jennifer Thistle Assistant Professor Communication Sciences and Disorders AIC 378 360-650-3157 thistlj@wwu.edu
Kathryn Vulić Professor English HU 335 360-650-3214 kathryn.vulic@wwu.edu
Ryan Wasserman Professor Philosophy BH 302A 360-650-3860 ryan.wasserman@wwu.edu
Suzi Wright Instructor TESOL MH 304D 360-650-2551 suzanne.wright@wwu.edu