Curriculum Council

The Curriculum Council is composed of eight members:  six tenure-track or tenured faculty, three from each of the disciplinary areas, appointed by the Faculty Affairs Council; and two department chairs appointed by the Dean’s Advisory Council. There may be no more than two representatives from any single department.  Members are appointed to staggered three-year terms. A faculty member who wants to serve a second term on a committee has priority for reappointment, but loses that priority for subsequent reappointment after serving two or more consecutive terms. In the event that a committee member cannot fulfill the term of service, that member should resign. The Associate Dean of the College, as designated by the Dean, presides over the Curriculum Council as Chair.

The Curriculum Council has jurisdiction over the undergraduate curriculum of the College and also reviews and acts on all changes to the graduate curriculum. The Curriculum Council is responsible for the approval of all academic courses and programs in the College, for reviewing matters related to the quality of the curriculum, including size of majors, prerequisites, and access, and for approving student/faculty designed majors. The Curriculum Council reports to the university Academic Coordinating Commission (ACC). Minutes of all meetings are forwarded to ACC for review of all actions of the Council. The Curriculum Council recommends changes in policy or procedures to the Faculty Affairs Council.

Membership 2023-2024

Marc Geisler, Associate Dean, College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Katherine Anderson, English
Kimberly Lynn, Global Humanities and Religion*
Nicholas Washburn, Health & Human Development
Kristin Anderson, Sociology, (SBS Chair Rep)
Peter Diehl, History
Sheila Webb, Journalism
Larry Simons, Psychology

* Chair appointments