Professional Leave Committee

The Professional Leave Committee considers the applications for professional leave forwarded to it by the Dean and makes recommendations to the Dean. The committee is composed of five tenured faculty members, two from each of the disciplinary areas and one at large representative.

There may be only one representative from any single department on the committee. No department chairs are eligible to serve on this committee, nor are faculty who plan to apply for a professional leave during the term of service. Committee members in the same department as an applicant may not be present during discussion of, voting on, and drafting of the letter of recommendation for that applicant.

The term of service is two years, three members to be named in odd numbered years and two in even numbered years. A faculty member who wants to serve a second term on a committee has priority for reappointment, but loses that priority for subsequent reappointment after serving two or more consecutive terms. In the event a committee member cannot fulfill the term of service, that member should resign. The committee may, through the office of the Dean, request additional information and/or consultation. The committee recommends changes in policy or procedures to the Faculty Affairs Council.

 Membership 2023-2024

  • Jennifer Thistle, Communication Sciences & Disorders (SBS)
  • Dawn Dietrich, English (MAL)
  • Mick Cunningham, Sociology (HUM)
  • Scott Pearce, Global Humanities & Religion (HUM)
  • Kelly Jantzen, Psychology (SBS)

HUM = Humanities Representative
SBS = Social & Behavioral Sciences Representative
MAL = Member at Large