Faculty Research Interests

Faculty Name and Title Research Interests Contact
Kristin Anderson,
Chair and Professor
Gender, domestic violence, families Kristin.Anderson@wwu.edu
(360) 650-7219
Rick Bulcroft,
Associate Professor
Family, relationships, adolescence, research methods Rick.Bulcroft@wwu.edu
(360) 650-3005
Mick Cunningham,
Professor
Family, social demography, gender, time use, intimate partner violence Mick.Cunningham@wwu.edu
(360) 650-4881
Seth Feinberg,
Professor
Research methodology, post-colonial African states, deviance, and NFL/NCAA labor markets feinbes@wwu.edu
(360) 650-3864
Sabrina Freeman,
Instructor
Organizations, small group processes, research Sabrina.Freeman@wwu.edu
(360) 650-3618
Pat Gillham,
Associate Professor
Social movements, democracy, policing, law, civil disorder, inequalities, social control and violence gillhap@wwu.edu
(360) 650-3006
Ronald Helms,
Professor
criminal justice (police, courts, corrections), criminology, local jails and mental health resourcing, energy consumption patterns, research methods Helmsr@wwu.edu
(360) 650-7927
Jen Lois,
Professor of Sociology
Sociology of Emotions, Gender, Identity/Self, Qualitative Methods Jen.Lois@wwu.edu
(360) 650-3007
Baozhen Luo, PhD,
Associate Professor
Global Aging, Long-Term Care Systems, Asian Americans, Social Theories luob@wwu.edu
360-650-7913
Carter Merklinghaus,
Instructor
Military Service, Gender, Substance Use/Abuse, Social Psychology, Demography ander498@wwu.edu
(360) 650-7213
Liz Mogford,
Professor
Social/structural determinants of health, travel ethics, critical health literacy pedagogy, gender equity with focus on violence against women mogfore@wwu.edu
(360) 650-3002
Jenny Nguyen,
Instructor
Race and ethnic inequality, gender, IEPs, ACEs, Experimental surveys nguye253@wwu.edu
(360) 650-3001
Melissa Osborne,
Assistant Professor
Social mobility, inequality and stratification, education, culture, organizations, social theory, qualitative methods osbornm7@wwu.edu
(360) 650-3001
Laura Overstreet,
Senior Instructor
Divorce in late adulthood, student learning Laura.Overstreet@wwu.edu
(360) 650-7522
Toby Ten Eyck,
Instructor
Community and urban culture Toby.TenEyck@wwu.edu
(360) 650-7521
Glenn Tsunokai, PhD,
Professor
Race and ethnic relations, methods, stratification tsunokg@wwu.edu
360-650-2540
Sara Vega,
Instructor
Social Inequality, Food Insecurity, Health, Applied Research, Survey Research Sara.Vega@wwu.edu
(360) 650-4926
Cameron T. Whitley,
Assistant Professor
Environmental Sociology, Animal Studies and Sociology of Animals , Science and Technology, Queer/Trans Studies, Social Psychology, Scholarship of Teaching and Learning whitlec@wwu.edu
(360) 650-3618
Batool Zaidi,
Assistant Professor
Gender, Demography, International Development, Global Sociology zaidir@wwu.edu
(360) 650-4926